Camino Issue: Tabbed Browsing Problems

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by NickD, Mar 25, 2007.

  1. NickD macrumors 6502a

    NickD

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #1
    Hey Everyone,

    First of all I'm new to these forums, but I think I will enjoy my stay here and it looks like a great community!

    On to my problem.

    I'm using Camino as my primary web browser, and can't for the life of me figure out how to set tabbed browsing the way I want. I've been through other forums, and multiple help guides, but can't fix this issue.

    When I click on a link (in a browser, not an external application), I want it to open in a new tab rather than a new window. There is probably a very obvious answer to this, but I haven't been able to find it.

    Suggestions?
    NickD
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    okay, well this is odd for me.

    my powerbook will open links in new tabs, but my iMac is set up differently. but i can't seem to find what i have set differently. :confused:

    edit: i don't have CamiTools installed on my Powerbook version, and just have all the Tab prefs checked off.
     
  3. NickD thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NickD

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #3
    That's strange because I am running an iMac as well.

    NickD
     
  4. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #4
    i don't use camino, but you can change this in the preferences in safari. i would only imagine it would be the same with other browsers.
     
  5. NickD thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NickD

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    That's what I would assume as well, but I've already been into the preferences and can't find an option for it.
     
  6. xJulianx macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #6
    I've always had the same problem as you too. I've adjusted to just right clicking and clicking open in new tab, but if someone could find a work around for this I would be greatful.
     
  7. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #7
    well apparently its possible because it behaves this way on my Powerbook. :confused: :eek:

    if you want i could upload my prefs file if someone wants to try it out.
     
  8. NickD thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NickD

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
  9. xJulianx macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #9
    That would be great.

    On a side note, what version of Camino is everyone running just so we know where we all stand. I'm on version 1.0.4
     
  10. NickD thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NickD

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
  11. xJulianx macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #11
    Developing on what I said about how I right click and click open in new tab: There is an option that lets you open a new tab by holding down the :apple: when clicking a link.

    Still not exactly how I would like it to behave mind.
     
  12. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #12
    i'm actually running the nightlies, on both my machines.

    but here is the .plist from my powerbook. give it a try.
     
  13. xJulianx macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #13
    How stable are the nightlies? How often are they released on average? Where do I get them from?

    Sorry about the burst of questions:p
     
  14. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #14
    the nightlies are very stable. i haven't had one crash on me yet. they are released every day. you don't have to update them everyday though, they do have some improvements in them that the official release doesn't have, such as spell checking as you type. there is an app called CaminoKinght that will auto-update the nightlies for you though.

    you can get them from here on the right
     
  15. xJulianx macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #15
    Ah, I think I'll download CaminoKnight in that case. Thanks.
     
  16. NickD thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NickD

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #16
    Wow. I must be having a serious brain fart, but how do I import you preferences into Camino?

    NickD
     
  17. xJulianx macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #17
    I'm trying to work it out aswell:p
     
  18. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #18
    the best way to actually do this is to make a backup of your prefs file first.
    just copy it to your home file. you'll find it this way:
    user>Library>Prefs
    once you've made a backup of yours, just drag the one you downloaded from me into the Prefs folder and replace yours with it.
     
  19. NickD thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NickD

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #19
    Well, that fixed it. Thanks a lot. It's much nicer to work this way.

    NickD
     
  20. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #20
    well i'm glad it worked! i have no idea what pref i had changed to make it work that way.
     
  21. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #21
    Maybe I'm being an idiot... but I just clicked the little dot in Camino's Preferences> Tabs that allow for things to open in new tabs, not new windows. :eek:

    Well, I do consciously command+click on links that I wish to open in new tabs... *shrug*
     

    Attached Files:

  22. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #22
    no you're not being an idiot, but we're trying to figure out how to get it to open every link in a new window with just a click. no holding command or anything.
     
  23. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #23
    Yeah, that's what I figured, hence, my added blurb. :p
     
  24. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #24
    gotcha.
     
  25. BulkHedd macrumors 6502

    BulkHedd

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #25
    I've been trying out Camino and I can't get it to do this either. With sites like Digg I want to click on a story and have it open a new tab in the existing window. I was able to get it working in Safari and Firefox, just can't get Camino to comply.
     

Share This Page