camino or firefox?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by andrewface, Sep 25, 2006.

  1. andrewface macrumors regular

    andrewface

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    #1
    i just downloaded camino...mozzilas mac web browser
    seems to be a bit quicker than firefox
    what do you guys prefere?
     
  2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    I prefer Firefox but there are 20+ threads on this already. :D
     
  3. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
  4. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #4
    seriously, there are dozens of threads on this subject already.

    between firefox and camino, camino has always been faster for me. safari has always been the fastest browser on my MBP, though.
     
  5. keithbennis macrumors regular

    keithbennis

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Coral Springs
    #5
    Has anyone had a problem with Camino and the flash player? Myspace's mp3 players on people's pages won't show, but do play...... I was wondering if there was any cure for this? (besides not going on myspace lol)
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    Camino is incredibly slow with Flash content. They probably know about it but it never hurts to check.
     
  7. keithbennis macrumors regular

    keithbennis

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Coral Springs
    #7

    check where? i've installed flash 9 and I don't even think that's compatible with Camino. I've googled and searched these forms for the solution and no luck. Got any ideas?
     
  8. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #8
    Camino is the s***. Firefox is s***. :p


    The only reason I use Firefox right now is because I can't drag and reorder tabs in the Tab bar like I can with Firefox. I find that very useful.
     
  9. keithbennis macrumors regular

    keithbennis

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Coral Springs
    #9
    Ok I fixed my problem about the flash just now......... is there anyway to increase the speed of Camino like you could with firefox?
     
  10. pjo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    #10
    You have totally confused me with that line right there.
     
  11. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    CamiTools probably can, just like it can do practically anything else.
     
  12. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #12
    i loves me some Camino.
    its just great.
    sure it doesn't have EVERYTHING, but i don't need everything either.
    simple and fast. much better than bloated and slow.
     
  13. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #13
    I'm waiting for Shiira 2.0. In the meantime, I like Firefox.
     
  14. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #14
    Really? Have you used Firefox 2.0 Beta 2? It's excellent.
     
  15. Karpfish macrumors 6502a

    Karpfish

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
  16. Dane D. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    ohio
    #16
    I use Camino, fast, nice interface and works with the sites I frequent. I don't care for Safari or FireFox, neither look nice and Safari quit working for me at home using 10.2.8. You might want to try Shiira, real fast or SeaMonkey (Mozilla replacement) a full suite browser. Opera is also a good choice, works well for me.
     
  17. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #17
    Firefox. I haven't tried Camino in a year. Does it have RSS support yet? If not, I'm staying put.
     
  18. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    sort of (at least in the newer nightlys) , you have to use an external feed reader though.
     

Share This Page