Can a 700MHZ eMac run tiger?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Apple-Geek, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #1
    My friend might sell me his emac for 30 bucks! I was wondering if it is possible to run 10.4 on it.


    Thanks, :apple:-geek
     
  2. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #2
    I'm sure it will. I ran 10.4 on an 800Mhz G4 with 768MB of RAM without issue.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    bbergie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary
    #3
    Yes it will. I run Tiger on a 667 Mhz system, and it runs brilliantly.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #4
    just max out the RAM. That may cost more than the eMac...

    I'm running 10.5.6 on a 1.25ghz with 1Gb of RAM.
     
  5. macrumors demi-god

    GeekLawyer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    The post is coming from inside the house!
    #5
    Yep, what he said. Max out the eMac's RAM and enjoy your new Tiger system.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #6
    Yep, Tiger will work.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #7
    yes tiger will run ...even good on it
    i think its the best osx for the eMac anyway
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #8
    I have the same eMac & if you use a Program called "Leopard Assist", you can even put Leopard On it. Of course you need to Max out the Ram to 1GB. That is my exact eMac setup. But I think Tiger ran a little faster than Leopard.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #9
    Cool then i am going to do it!


    Thanks, :apple:-geek
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Location:
    Mississauga, ON
    #10
    I'm running Leopard on my 1.25 GHz eMac, with only 512 MB of ram and it works well (faster than Panther for sure) and I didn't need to run anything called "Leopard Assist" at all.
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    The system requirements for Leopard call for a G4 at 867MHz or faster, which is why you would not need Leopard Assist, and someone with a 700MHz eMac would....

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_OS_X_Leopard#System_requirements
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3759

    I personally would go for Tiger if you can get more than 640MB of memory (I was not happy with Tiger at 640, but at 1.125GB it was ace), or perhaps Leopard if you can get above 1GB. But everyone varies. Some people are happy running Leopard on 512MB, clearly, and more power to them.
     

Share This Page