Can a Apple Remote control a Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by M&M, Aug 3, 2009.

  1. M&M macrumors regular

    M&M

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Joliette, Quebec, Canada
    #1
    Hello everybody,

    I recently received my mac pro and I was trying to pair my Apple remote to it, but I can't seem to make it work.

    I've unpaired the remote with my MacBook Pro but then again, no luck. The Mac Pro won't pair with the Apple remote.

    Besides pressing the Menu and Forward button at the same time, do I have to do something else?

    Works every time with my MacBook Pro, so I don't know what to do.

    Sorry if my question is very basic, but I'm no genius with apple products yet!

    Thank you for your wonderful help!
     
  2. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
  3. M&M thread starter macrumors regular

    M&M

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Joliette, Quebec, Canada
    #3
    Thank you for your reply.

    Now I know!

    Boy, is my face red...:eek:
     
  4. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #4
    You can control movies and TV with EyeTV if the hardware has a remote.
     
  5. aibo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    you need a USB IR receiver. i'm using a Philips eHome 2005 with Remote Buddy.
     
  6. NIPRING macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Waukesha WI
    #6
    With my G5PM i use the Manta TR1 (usb IR sensor) and Mira software. Works pretty good too.
     
  7. bc008 macrumors 68000

    bc008

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    Wait, the mac pro doesnt even have io as an upgrade? I was surprised when wifi was extra, but not having this an option surprises me.
     
  8. outaru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #9
    man that's a 16usd solution..

    how about using ipod touch's remote control app
    but then that'll be a 300usd solution :D
     

Share This Page