Can a bluetooth PDA work as a Airtunes remote?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by marknicholls, Nov 26, 2004.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #1
    If i was to buy a PDA with bluetooth, can i use it as a remote control for aittunes? if so, what software would be needed? this would be amazing......much better than having to go to a different room to change tracks

    Many Thanks
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #2
    If you have a Bluetooth phone you can do it already, particularly with the Sony Ericsson k and s700s

    Have a look at Sailing Clicker (full version and basic free one)
    http://homepage.mac.com/jonassalling/Shareware/Clicker/

    to check which version would be most useful and is compatible with the PDA/phone you are thinking of.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #3
    I have just used it and its very good but i have a slight problem.....i have never always used my phone only a foot away from my powerbook so have never had a problem, but when i moved into the lounge (i want to be able to get a set of speakers in the lounge with airtunes) and the laptop is only 5 feet away from the lounge.....and it just wont connect! H

    Is the range really that bad on bluetooth|??

    Thanks
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #4
    Hey

    I dont seem to be getting an feedback!!! Is there anyone that can help??

    I have just been testing it, and its really odd, Bluetooth stays connected when im in the spare bed room about 8 15 feet away.....but wont work when i am in the lounge only 5 feet away....and i want it working in the lounge!

    I thought there may be something to do with interference, so i unplugged my router and cordless phone, but it still disconnects at about 5 feet in the lounge, but works in the bedroom 15 feet away.....how can this be??

    Is there a PDA with wifi that would work as a remote control? Thanks
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    timnosenzo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    ct, us
    #5
    Apparently, no.

    Only a guess, maybe there's a lot of plumbing or something running through the wall you're trying to get a signal through.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    #6
    Bluetooth isn't that bad, it's just interference. I know I can use my Apple Wireless Keyboard in my backyard when I move away from the water heater and plumbing, so something must be in the way.
    -Chase
     
  7. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #7
    my usb bluetooth dongle covers my whole house and garden i can use my mac from my garden with some binoculars and 1024x768 res on a 23" screen.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #8
    Is there a PDA with wifi that would work as a remote control? Similar to the way a PDA or phone with bluetooth works? with wifi the distance would be much better
     

Share This Page