Can a Mac mini and a PowerMac share the same 23" Cinema HD Display

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by macusersoon, Oct 5, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #1
    Can I hook up a Mac mini and a PowerMac G5 to the same 23" Cinema HD Display?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    mgargan1

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    #2
    Yes, get a KVM switch...
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    im_to_hyper

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Riverside, California, USA
    #3
    I don't believe you would be able to use the display solo with both at the same time, but it should work with a KVM switch.

    For awhile, I had a PC and an old Mac connected to the same monitor with one. I believe your screen is DVI, so you could maybe use something like this

    EDIT: Guess I was beaten to it. But indeed, a KVM switch is what you are looking for.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Sinsinnati

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
  5. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #5
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #6
    Thanks for the feedback. Didn't realize they were so costly. I guess I'll have to get the Mac mini 1.66 model instead of the 1.83 due to the cost of the switch :(
     

Share This Page