Can a macbook C2D run FCP?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by cosmoscorbin, Dec 6, 2006.

  1. cosmoscorbin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #1
    I know apple does not officially support this, BUT... does the macbook C2D run FCP 5.1 or 5.0 (the non intel version)? Anyone have any experience? I would LOVE to save $600 on the powerbook price!
     
  2. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #2
    Why not just use Final Cut Elements? Apple supports FCE on the Macbook
     
  3. cosmoscorbin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #3
    Fce

    well,

    I own a copy of FCP... 5.0 but I could easily upgrade to 5.1

    and I do "a lot" of video editing. I also know that FCP really doesnt use the graphic card, it's the processor speed that's important, along with the hard drive.

    I just want to find out if it will run on the book or not. Iv'e seen conflicting things on the web, so I was curious about other's experiences.
     
  4. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #4
    I hardly know anything about FCP, but I *think* it will run just fine, except for motion;) Just be sure to get 2GB RAM then, and a faster HD (7200RPM 100GB or 120GB or 160GB 5400RPM etc;)
     
  5. techster85 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    #5
    it will work. I run FCP 5.0 on my 12 inch PB haha. It won't be the fastest thing you've ever edited, but it will do the basics, color correcting can get tricky. I would say, get the cross grade upgrade, it wouldn't hurt to have it right? But it should work just fine, be aware that if you use plug-ins, they might not be universal yet...
     
  6. Kalns macrumors regular

    Kalns

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #6
    I've been using Final Cut since I was on a 400mhz G4 tower. Yes, it will work.
     
  7. Mac'Mo macrumors 6502a

    Mac'Mo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    for all these video/photo editing programs made by 3rd party companies on the macs, do you have to buy them....legitimately. I know that macs are safer and stuff but does that mean it prevents ppl from installing pirated programs? (Im not condoning this, just wondering!) TIA
     
  8. dollystereo macrumors 6502a

    dollystereo

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    France
    #8
    Yes, as someone said, throw 2Gb of ram and a external FW 7.200 rpm HD and you are done. It will work extremely fast, the processor is a beast.
    I have been using my new Imac Core 2 duo for FCP and it is faster than my dual 2.3 G5....(scary =/)
     
  9. SMM macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #9
    Yes, Mac's will reformat the hard drive if they detect pirated software.
     
  10. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #10
    Multiple reports seem to indicate that Final Cut Pro requires the Universal Binary 5.1 to run on Intel Macs at all. The non-Universal 5.0 won't run at all, it would appear. Although a hack to force 4.5 to run on unsupported Macs MIGHT work: xlr8yourmac link. Of course, you're mileage may vary, and you're taking your life (or at least your MacBook) into your own hands trying this.

    Here is a Wiki showing what software (that the University of Pennsylvania runs) does and does not work on Intel Macs. Final Cut Pro 5.0 is specifically listed as does not function.
     
  11. codo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #11
    5.1 runs fine on my CD MB, so it's fine on your C2D.
     
  12. Mac'Mo macrumors 6502a

    Mac'Mo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    serious?!
     
  13. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #13
    Of course not! :D
     
  14. dollystereo macrumors 6502a

    dollystereo

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    France
    #14
    That not true...:D
     
  15. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #15
    Wetter you paid for the software or not has not influence over if a program is "safe" or not.
    But even in theory how could the computer know if the software was paid for?
     
  16. lewion macrumors regular

    lewion

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Kalmthout
    #16
    Indeed... i can verify that lol :p
     
  17. Mac'Mo macrumors 6502a

    Mac'Mo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    so theoretically i could install pirated XP on my mac, or adobe photoshop or anything else
     
  18. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #18
    MacRumors does not support or condone the use of illegal software.
     

Share This Page