Can a Powerbook serve as a second display?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by amin, Sep 6, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    I want to extend the desktop of a Mac Pro. Can I use the Powerbook as a second display? I searched and the answer seems to be no, but if anyone knows a way, I'd love to hear it!
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    The answer is basically No. A PowerBook does not have any video inputs. There is some software that kind of allows this over a network connection but it's name escapes me at the moment...
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #3
    I won't say it's impossible, but there is no way to easily do it, or a convenient way.

    There might be a software solution, but I'd guess there might be some lag or limitation on this, and the same for something going over the network.

    Better to buy another display similar to the one you already have - it's a lot easier to view a split desktop without the height distance etc.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    Thanks guys. If anyone knows the name of the network solution, I'd like to give it a try if it supports monitor spanning. Otherwise, I'll just drive the display with the Powerbook.
     
  5. weg
    macrumors 6502a

    weg

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    nj
    #5
    Yes, if your other machine supports the X11 protocol ;-)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    What is the X11 protocol?

    Edit - Okay I looked it up, and it doesn't look like it would help me with spanning anyway, would it?
     
  7. weg
    macrumors 6502a

    weg

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    nj
    #7
    Sorry, I was more or less joking. The X11 protocol allows you to view the window of an application that you're running on another computer on your screen. However, this does only work when the application is written for X11 (as most Unix applications are). This doesn't allow you to enlarge your workspace, AND both computer must be switched on.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Manzana

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #8
    ok, what if you use your mac pro through your powerbook with Apple remote desktop or vnc? this way you could use your pb and display, your external monitor with spanning, and your macpro all at the same time?

    this way anywhere you go within your wireless network you would have access to your mac pro, and when you're at your desk you could use your extra monitor.

    i'd love to have this setup!
     

Share This Page