Can a router recieve internet signal, or just send signals out?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by TantalizedMind, Dec 23, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #2
    I dont know about your router but I know that I have two airport express and they can be linked together to extend the range.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #3
    Edit: Removed wise-@$$ remark - why? Because that is so simple - I must be misunderstanding entirely.

    If you can see this website - you router is doing both - otherwise you would not be seeing this website.

    I think you're asking something else on a level I cannot understand.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #4
    Uh.. yeah. Why would I post a question just to waste bandwidth and everyone's (including myself) time?

    I've always used wired connections. Sorry wii aren't as smart as you are.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #5
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #6
    I have a wired connection now. But I need my PowerMac G5 (which doesn't have bluetooth or Airport card) to connect wirelessly to the apartment I'm moving into. I use a router now (that is wireless enabled but thus far has been used WITH wires) to connect my 360, PS3... but wasn't sure if in the apartment I could just use the router to receive the signal to my G5.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #7
    From wikipedia 802.11 search...

    Wireless network bridges connect a wired network to a wireless network. This is different from an access point in the sense that an access point connects wireless devices to a wired network at the data-link layer. Two wireless bridges may be used to connect two wired networks over a wireless link, useful in situations where a wired connection may be unavailable, such as between two separate homes.

    Also worth looking at is "ad hoc mode".
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #8
    Well as your G5 doesn't have an airport card, the only way to go about things would be to wire your router to the G5 and also have a wireless signal going to your Xbox and PS3, since those do have wireless cards.

    Or... I see. You could also create a wireless network from your wired G5 to send out a wireless signal to your router which would be connected to the game consoles. The G5 is capable of creating a wireless network, while the consoles, I presume, are not.

    In any case, the G5 will have to be wired, because it doesn't have an airport card.

    Is that right? I don't know if I completely understood your situation or not...

    irmongoose
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #9
    Thanks. Though SADLY it'll be a month or two til I have my 360 hooked up back to LIVE since I have to buy that gay $100 receiver. PS3 has wifi out of the box, 360 doesn't.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #10
    360 dosen't have wifi built in? That sucks.

    FYI - it might be cheaper to get a WIFI USB dongle for your iMac than your 360 - might be worth checking the prices.

    If the iMac is cheaper - run the 360 and PS3 wired - and run the iMac WIFI. Besides - Wired does do better for online gaming. (lower ping time and fewer drop outs - which can make games frustrating sometimes - COD4)
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #11
    You can probably buy an airport antenna for your G5 for less than $100.
    I assume your G5 is the one with the antennae?


    irmongoose
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #12
    If you want to save a few bucks, try going for an "ethernet game adapter." Linksys, Belkin, & D-Link all have their own device... it is essentially a wireless to ethernet bridge. Although it isn't quite as pretty as the 360 adapter, it'll get the job done just fine.
     

Share This Page