Can Airport Express be used without wireless?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by SuperJoe, May 5, 2005.

  1. SuperJoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #1
    I have a Windows network that is 100% wired. Since buying an iPod and ripping all of my CD's to my hard drive, I want to play them on my stereo. The Airport Express seems to be the best way to integrate the two, but without a wireless network, will it work? I can't tell if the Ethernet port is only for DSL/Cable or if I can connect it to my network.
     
  2. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #2
    It seems to me that if you don't have a wireless network, the easiest way to connect to the stereo is from the headphone jack of the computer. Seems like a waste of $130 just to connect to a stereo.
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    You can connect any network cable to the AE - it doesn't need to be from a DSL/cable modem. Whether or not the stereo link will work, I'm not sure, but my guess is that it will work perfectly - I don't think the AE cares if it gets the iTunes info wirelessly or via the network cable.

    However, as mentioned above, audio cables are vastly cheaper.
     
  4. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #4
    The AirPort Express has an option to play music (AirTunes) through the ethernet. It's in the Music tab in the AirPort admin utility.
     
  5. SuperJoe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #5
    My computer is at the other end of the house. My house is wired with Cat5 cable, so I have a wired network for all of my computers. There's a network jack by my stereo.

    Thanks, Bear, I'll probably pick one up.
     
  6. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL

Share This Page