Can anyone confirm whether VMware or Parallels works fine under Mavericks?

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by jnozsc, Jun 10, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #1
    I mean:
    host OS: Mavericks
    guest OS: any other OS.

    Does vmware or parallels work well?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #2
    I installed Mavericks DP earlier today on my MBR 15" and Parallels 8 (Build 8.0.18483) running Windows 7 isn't working for me.

    I receive the error "Unable to load the Parallels driver"

    I did reboot after the first time I received the error.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Location:
    Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada
  4. macrumors member

    MLMcMillion

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    #4
    VMWare Fusion 5 seems to be working fine for both regular VMs and Boot Camp, minus a small graphical glitch when the password prompt pops up for Boot Camp.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #5
    VMWare 5.03 running XP is working perfectly for me on Mavericks
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #6
    VMWare Fusion 5 works but VMWare Fusion 6 Tech Preview is broken.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    #7
    15 RMBP, parallels latest version - windows xp & 7, both don't work.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #8
    There is a fix for Parallels. It appears the kernel extensions Parallels needs don't automatically load. If you load them by hand and then run Parallels it works just fine.

    Exact steps are here:

    http://forum.parallels.com/showthread.php?287726-Parallels-in-OSX-10-9-host
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #9
    hey guys, i am on mountain lion, and i have windows 8 installed as a VM usiong VMWARE. can i add another VM with my .dmg of DP1 mavericks?
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #10
    How to make Parallels works on OS X Mavericks

    This script from Parallels works for me:
    http://kb.parallels.com/en/116259

    I am using Parallels Desktop version 8.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    msephton

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    St Ives, Cornwall & London, UK
    #11
    VMware 5.0.3 working mostly, although the shared network connection seems busted.
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #12
    how do install 10.9 DP1 on vmware!? its a dmg file!
     
  13. macrumors regular

    tbohlsennswssrg

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Chatswood, Sydney, NSW, Australia
    #13
    You would first install Mountain lion, then mount the dmg file as a DVD, then copy the installer to the hard drive that the mountain lion is on and after that open the installer and follow the steps shown.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    ResPublica

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #15
    Parallel is working fine (Any guests: Bootcamp W7, W7, W8, many linux distros and ML).

    You'll either have to download the _latest_ version or use the script available on Parallel support forum - Tiberion linked it -

    Vmware (5) seems to have some difficulties with the network (I do not have many VM under Vmware and don't use it much). I've the same problem as msephton with the shared network (All my Parallel VM are bridged).
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Swiss-G

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #16
    Parallels have released version 8.0.18494 which supports OS X 10.9 (experimental support)

    http://kb.parallels.com/en/116290
     
  17. macrumors regular

    msephton

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    St Ives, Cornwall & London, UK
    #17
    Works to use the VM and apps, but network access does not work for me with DP1 or DP2.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Lolito

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Location:
    here
    #18
    Prallels 8 latest version works perfectly on mavericks DP2
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #19
    Mavericks DP2
    Windows 7 Pro in VMware Fusion
    Mid 2010 Macbook

    Running great here.
     
  20. macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #20
    Probably a permissions problem (VMware kernel extensions)!?
     
  21. macrumors regular

    ResPublica

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #21
    Thanks!
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    #22
    As others have said, the latest build of Parallels 8 and DP2 work flawlessly for me. I have Windows 8 and Ubuntu 13.04 VMs that work perfectly.

    The only consistent problem I've seen reported on the Parallels forums is with the Maps app under Mavericks running in a Parallels VM. Maps appears to run, but the maps don't draw at all. There appears to be some graphics acceleration problem.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    #23
    I'm running Fusion 5.0.3 and everything runs fine under DP1 and DP2
     
  24. macrumors regular

    msephton

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    St Ives, Cornwall & London, UK
    #24
    I'm using 5.0.3 with XP, W7 and Ubuntu and I cannot get any pages to show in a browser under any platforms. I have reinstalled VMware Tools.

    Can you please let me know what your network settings are? Thanks
     
  25. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #25
    Running Fusion 5.0.3.

    DP 1 worked but unity mode was broken. DP 2 has fixed unity.
     

Share This Page