Can anyone explain how to have 5.1 audio as well as stereo tracks in Subler?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Firesign3394, May 22, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #1
    I can't figure it out and I have looked all over the web.

    I have an mkv files I try to remux and they are 5.1. Whenever I remux, I get stereo sound. Changing settings doesn't help either.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #2
    What format is the audio track after remux (AAC, AC3, etc)?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesota
  4. macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    it should look like this at the end

    [​IMG]

    track 1 AAC stereo
    track 2 AC3 pass-thru 5.1

    if you are using a mac to remux the MKV, then using MP4Tools the following settings will give you the correct result

    [​IMG]
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #5
    Chenks, gives the way it should look after remux. If it is different than that, let us know the differences and we can work from that info to solve the problem.

    Sorry, Chenks, didn't see the bottom of your post before I replied. Like you, I think, I prefer to use mp4tools to remux the mkv to mp4 and add generate a new stereo track.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #6
    My mkv files do not have a stereo track, just a 5.1 track. Any thoughts?
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #7
    I have not used Subler to add an AAC Prologic II stereo track but I know it has a preference setting to do so. Do you have that preference option selected and the appropriate output type chosen? Oh, and is the input file DD or DTS? I am not 100% sure that Subler works well converting DTS to AAC.

    Your very best option is to use MP4Tools to do this. It does not tag metadata however.
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #8
    When adding the stereo track are you selecting pass-thru?

    When I do remuxing with Subler and have a MKV with AC3 I add the audio track twice. Once to have it as a stereo track and the other to have it as a pass-thru AC3 track.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #9
    But doesn't it have to be AAC stereo for the aTV?
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #10
    Subler does not have this option (not quite). Subler has an option to convert an AC3 track to an AAC track. Alas, it does not preserve the AC3 track when it does so.

    A.
     
  11. Diode, May 22, 2012
    Last edited: May 22, 2012

    macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #11
    You don't need AAC for the ATV. It plays AC3 just fine. I have two tracks - AC3 5.1 for the atv and AAC for my iPad/iPhone.

    Then AC3 is selected as pass-thru and the AAC stereo track is converted from the ac3.

    The only time I don't use two tracks is when the ac3 track is stereo. Then I just do one AAC file to save space - even though the atv can play a ac3 stereo file.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #12
    Whenever I use MP4Tools, I have the problem outlined in this post: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1373694

    I don't have that issue with Subler.

    But with Subler I have the audio issue!

    [​IMG]
    This is a snapshot of my settings in Subler. I haven't an option to select stereo or 5.1.

    I just tried to take a MP4Tools created file and "optimize" it using Subler but it did not work. I wish MP4Tools would work, considering I paid $5 for it and it works with audio so well.

    Any other ideas?
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    MP4Tools works fine, you must be using it wrong if you are having problems.
    See the screengrab of MP4Tools I provided further up the thread - that is how you remux the MKV file to M4V with 5.1 and stereo audio tracks.
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #14
    I misunderstood what you were saying. I though you were saying you have 2 AC3 tracks, 1 stereo and 1 5.1. That format was not what was "typical" for track structure as usually 1 is AAC stereo and the other is AC3 5.1.
     
  15. Diode, May 23, 2012
    Last edited: May 23, 2012

    macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #15
    The appletv can't play a m4v file with a DTS audio track - you need to convert it to AC3.

    While a little complex to initially setup, When I have a mkv file with DTS, I use a script called mkvdtstoac3 to convert the mkv with a dts file to AC3 and then use subler to remux to the file to m4v.

    The script:

    https://github.com/JakeWharton/mkvdts2ac3

    Some instructions to setup:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=836043

    When following the instructions, just skip downloading the script from his site and get it from the Jake link I posted.

    Once you have everything setup, you simply run "mkvdts2ac3 -n <filename>" in the terminal to recreate the MKV file with the DTS track replaced with a AC3 track.

    It's free, works well, and is easy to use (once you have everything set up).
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    or just use MP4Tools which does everything with the click of a couple of buttons - and it's FREE also.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #17
    I would but it causes the issue outlined in the post above. If I could figure out what causes that issue, mp4tools would be great!

    I am going to take a snapshot of my mp4tools settings later and post them here to see if I am doing anything wrong. I believe the settings always matched what another poster posted earlier.

    I will also try using the script. It looks like that may work!
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #18

    Looks like MP4Tools is buggy with the ATV / high bit rate files.

    The only thing I can think of would be to open the file created with MP4Tools in subler after conversion and use it's optimize function to resave the file and see if that works. Or just wait to see if the developer can fix the issue.

    In the mean time the script I mentioned will do what you want to do.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    i've never tried using Subler to remux a MKV file before.
    what's the process for doing it in subler?

    ----------

    the problem i see with that process though, is that you end up with an M4V file with just 1 audio track (an AC3 5.1 pass-thru track)?
     
  20. macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #20
    Subler will convert AC3 to AAC if you tell it to when adding tracks. Open the MKV file in subler and you can select which tracks to add to a new container. To get a second AAC track, re-add the MKV but only add the audio portion (deslecting the other tracks) and choose AAC instead of pass-thru.

    From there you can add meta tags etc

    Then just save the new file and it will create a proper m4v or queue it to do multiple at once. Subler will not convert the video track so it needs to be a h264/x264 track nor does it do DTS to AC3 (but I think it might do DTS to AAC).
     
  21. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #21
    I assume you are referring to AAC multichannel, correct? When I have selected that "action" the added track is still titled "DTS 6 channel". Is that the way it should appear and then after remuxing it is changed to AAC multichannel? A little bit confusing.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    trying to follow the instructions that were posted regarding mkvdts2ac3 and having problems at the first hurdle (installing cmake)

    Code:
    sudo curl -O http://www.cmake.org/files/v2.6/” && cmake_install && tar xvzf  && cmake_install
      % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                     Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
    100  4914  100  4914    0     0  12527      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 20647
    -bash: cmake_install: command not found
    any suggestions?
    OSX Lion 10.7.4 with xcode 4.x installed.

    plus, i'm having to put "sudo" in front of every command....
     
  23. macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #23
    I would just install it from here:

    http://www.cmake.org/files/v2.8/cmake-2.8.8-Darwin64-universal.dmg

    It's a precompiled binary. Look at ixxx69's instructions further down. They are more up to date.
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    ok.... next point of failure is the part for mkvinfo... the zip file doesn't appear to be at that URL any more.
     
  25. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #25
    Looks like the problem is with mp4tools is with the video track. So wouldn't this work:
    1) create an mp4 with a video track, dts-ma converted to AC3 5.1 and a AAC stereo track using mp4tools
    2) open the original mkv in Subler
    3) delete all tracks except the video track
    3) add only the 2 audio tracks (AC3 5.1 and AAC stereo) from the mp4
    4) save
     

Share This Page