can anyone help me with this?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Dreamwatch, Nov 9, 2005.

  1. Dreamwatch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    #1
    I'm runnung OSX Panther 10.3.9 on an Ibook. Now everyone i know with a similar spec mac machine can access this site ( www.musicnonstop.co.uk ) on their Macs with all known browsers IE, Firefox , Safari ect, but i cannot. A dialogue box just comes up with message, 'Orderflag is not defined at line 28'. This happens on every browser i use, Firefox and Safari on my machine. I have updated Java, but apparently its nothing to do with that. It is an OS issue. Can anyone help me?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Maybe it's an issue with your ISP. Maybe give them a call to see if they know what's going on. FWIW, I get through fine. :)
     
  3. Dreamwatch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    #3
    Just phoned my ISP provider and they they say there is nothing that could be blocking my access to that site from their end
     
  4. dodonutter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Deep South UK
    #4
    Can you take your ibook to a starbucks or somewhere and use their internet access just to test out whether its your laptop or the ISP as mad jew said. Does sound like an ISP issue though...or a very odd and random OS issue.
     
  5. Dreamwatch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    #5
    It cant be my ISP because freind of mine with a power mac with same ISP company can also access it fine :confused:
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    That doesn't necessarily mean it isn't the ISP though. I strongly recommend checking out a coffee shop's connection or even your neighbour's (ask first), just to make sure. :)
     
  7. Dreamwatch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    #7
    I've just remembered that i took my Ibook to my freinds house , who is with a totaly differant ISP company, plug into his ISP and i remembered that i couldn't access the site there either :confused:
     
  8. Soverc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #8
    Clear cache

    try clearing the cache, that is a punt tho since, you are having it across different browsers. Also check to see that the site is not trying to start up port 443 if so double check that you do not have it blocked.
     
  9. Dreamwatch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    #9
    So how do you clear the cache in OSX? and would having Norton anti virus/firewall running have anything to do with this little problem?
     
  10. Dreamwatch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    #10
    Well i've just de-installed Norton anti virus and firewall and that seems to have cured the problem
     
  11. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #11
    By way of explanation, if anyone is interested, Norton Firewall was obviously intercepting some data along the way and interfering with it in some way--preventing a connection, stripping out something it didn't like, delaying something, whatever. This apparently caused that site's weird sripts (it has some sort of "loading" screen for each page) to get data they weren't expecting, and therefore generate an error.

    Yet another reason to believe that Norton causes more problems than it fixes.
     
  12. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #12
    sounds about right to me buddy, try it.

    Bless
     

Share This Page