Can Aperture be used for scanned film?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by princealfie, Mar 20, 2007.

  1. princealfie macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #1
    I know that Aperture has been productive for digital photography but I was wondering whether Aperture is better than iPhoto/Photoshop for scanned film? Iphoto for catalogue and Photoshop for the editing.
     
  2. artalliance macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Location:
    In the cool neighborhood of LA
    #2
    I might be confused by your question, but scanned film becomes a digital copy of your photo. So yes, Aperture will work great for organizing.
     
  3. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Once your neg is scanned it is a digital file and as such you can use any editing software program.
    Personally I prefer Photoshop for any editing and iPhoto for cataloging.

    FJ
     
  4. artalliance macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Location:
    In the cool neighborhood of LA
    #4
    Forgive me if I am stating the obvious here - but think of Aperture as the big brother of iphoto. More functionality, faster and better workflow, etc. But in principle Aperture and iphoto do the same thing. Cataloguing software with some minor editing functions.
    For all the major editing you still need to rely on an editor, e.g. Photoshop.
     
  5. princealfie thread starter macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #5
    Sounds good :) Looks like I will have to install Aperture onto my MacBook :)
     
  6. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #6
    Yes. Aperture has much better cataloging abilities than does iPhoto. And it has basic "dust busting" tools and offers more sophisticated color and exposure adjust so you may not need Photoshop. The only reason to prefer iPhoto over Aperture is either
    1. You don't want to go through Aperture's much steeper learning curve
    2. Your hardware can't run Aperture (You need a high-end Mac)
    3. You don't want to spend $300
    All of the above are good reasons not to choose aperture. For most users #1 is enough of a reason
     
  7. Georgie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #7
    One frustrating thing about Aperture though: you can't modify the date field in the metadata.

    If you can, and I'm wrong, will someone please correct me? However I'm pretty sure I'm correct. And it would be nice to edit that field because obviously the scanned date has little correlation with the actual date the photo was taken (or painting was painted, etc.)
     
  8. artalliance macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Location:
    In the cool neighborhood of LA
    #8
    You should send that feature request to the Aperture team.
     
  9. PkennethV macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
    Yup, you most certainly can. Take a quick look
     
  10. chriscorbin macrumors 6502

    chriscorbin

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Vallejo, CA
    #10
    You can run it yes, but it is slow as hell seeing as how graphics-card-dependent Aperture is
     
  11. princealfie thread starter macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #11
    Would that be slow as hell without any other programs or with 10 other programs open? :eek:
     
  12. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #12
    If you have 2GB of RAM it will be acceptable. It sometimes slows down on my MBP if I ask it to render to many RAWs to JPEG at once.
     

Share This Page