Can Apple Cinema Display TV?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by McT, Sep 7, 2006.

  1. McT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #1
    I can't find any info on this. I'm in college and the next television I buy will be some kind of flat screen, probably LCD. But I was admiring the Cinema displays at the Apple Store and wondering

    if there is any way to get HDTV through them?

    I'd be running it off my MacBook...
     
  2. AppleIntelRock macrumors 65816

    AppleIntelRock

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #2
    Great question! When purchasing a monitor that expensive and large, many people ask themselves that same thing. Unfortunately out of the box, Apple’s Displays do not have television functionally, however that can be changed. Visit this website, it will show you a very good solution, that not only lets you watch live television, but use your computer as a pvr- similar to a TiVo. There is one catch however, your display must be connected to your computer for this to work. As far as HDTV goes, yes and no. The two larger displays are HD, however, you'll need to find a HDTV tuner.

    Hope that helped!

    -AppleIntelRock
     
  3. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    If your HDTV receiver has DVI out, then yes. Otherwise you need something like the EyeTV Wonder.
     
  4. AppleIntelRock macrumors 65816

    AppleIntelRock

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #4
    Keep in mind the above will ONLY work with the 23" display, for the 20" is not HD, and the 30 inch has dual link dvi, which is not supported on HDTV boxes.
    -appleintelrock
     
  5. Integrity macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    #5
    you need an apple mac to run it.
    I have purchased 2 Apple cinema TV HD screens . They cannot run on their own. Need to hook up to Apple Mac to run it.
     
  6. Tourist macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #6
    get an EyetV-hybrid for your macbook and you should be good to go for HDTV!
     

Share This Page