Can I cancel Migration Assistant midway through?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MikeTheVike, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #1
    I just got my new iMac and started using Migration Assistant to transfer my old stuff to my new computer. Unfortunately I was not prepared for my old computer having Firewire 400 and the new on having 800. I started using my wireless connection to transfer. I was hoping for "time to completion" estimate but it doesn't look like it's going to give me one. I have a feeling this could take FOREVER so I was hoping to cancel it and find some spare networking hubs and connect both computers to a wired network.

    I just want to make sure I can cancel my current process without messing anything up. Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    FireWire 400 is still faster than USB. I wouldn't worry too much. If it's taking too long, just leave it overnight and it'll be done by morning.

    You can't cancel Migration Assistant, but you can power down the computer and run a fresh install from the restore disks. The installer takes about 20 minutes to run.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #3
    I had it running over wireless and it probably would have taken days. I stopped the migration process and hooked both computers to the wired network and ran it again. For some reason all my files transfered over, but none of my settings cam through. I ended up clean installing OSX and trying it again and it worked great!
     
  4. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #4
    Yeah, running it over wireless was probably a mistake. Apple should include some sort of network performance test before copying and/or just warn you when connected to a wireless network.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    #5
    Command-Q to cancel Migration Assistant

    I was able to stop the process by typing Command-Q on the new Mac and then doing the same on the old Mac.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    #6
    Migration in progress

    Thanks for posting that! It helped me get out of a 40 hr transfer! What is confusing on first blush is during set up of the new computer the set up assistant asks if you would like to transfer information from another computer. I started the whole process unaware that it was connecting over wireless network.

    I was able to stop the transfer using the cmd-Q. Powered down new computer, went all the way through the setup assistant. Connected the FireWire 400/800 cable and checked FireWire settings in Network to make sure they we're both active. Then SHUT OFF the wireless network. Then started migration assistant which will now take onlyl 2hrs and not 40! Sheesh. I think they make it purposefully tricky so you pay the extra $150 to have it done in the store. But, all is well that ends well and our new Mac RockS!
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    #7
    CECECANNAVO Thanks

    This was a life saver. Migration went from 45 hours to 1.5 hours.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #8
    Using ethernet to migrate from 2011 imac to 2012 MBP ... Migration Assistant seemed to be going well, saying there was about 1 hour left to transfer, then kind of crapped out. The estimated time to completion is goign through the roof. Why would it mess up like that?

    Also, they shoudl make it where the computers will not go to sleep during this process. I keep having to go in and move the mouse every 5 minutes or it times out. Any advice on how to do it better or fix it now?
     
  9. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #9
    Copying small files takes more time.

    To disable sleep, go into
    System Preferences > Energy Saver
    and adjust computer sleep time
     

Share This Page