Can I connect my mac, and a Pc to my cable modem?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by VegasMac, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. VegasMac macrumors newbie

    VegasMac

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #1
    Just been poundering a quick question, I have a wireless network with my G4 laptop, and I'm thinking about getting a PC for my girlfirend. How would I connect that Pc to the internet, with my cable modem, can I USB it? I know it's probably a dum question but just want to make sure I'm doing it right.
     
  2. zelmo macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #2
    No problem.
    I have an Airport Extreme Base Station hooked to my cable modem. An iMac is plugged into the AEBS ethernet port, my PB connects to the wireless network via Airport card, and my wife's new Vaio was easy to set up on the wireless network. She can even print wirelessly to the printer I have hooked into the USB port on my Airport Express.

    try this link for some helpful instructions.
     
  3. Rootman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Miami
    #3
    Use ethernet, not USB.

    _________________
    Author of Chicken Soup for the Vegan's Soul
     
  4. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #4
    You have a couple of options. But first things first. How do you have your G4 networked? You say wireless, but what kind of router?

    If you have a standard set-up, you could ...

    1. connect your gf's PC to the wireless router via ethernet OR
    2. connect your gf's PC to the wireless router via 802.11 card.

    there are other options, but these two are probably the easiest. The 1st option would cost next to nothing as most PC's these days come with an ethernet card. The 2nd option would involve buying an 802.11 (a,b, or g) device of some sort.

    Hope this helps.
     
  5. diamond geezer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    #5
    The real question is "why would you buy your G'friend a PC".

    Are you trying to get her to leave you?
     
  6. jlewis2k1 macrumors 6502a

    jlewis2k1

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    in your closet
    #6
    you should be able to have your pc connected wirelessly. here at my place we have 4 PCs that are wirelessly connected to the AEBS. OR You can connect the PC via ethernet on the AEBS or get a hub. Either way works :).
     
  7. VegasMac thread starter macrumors newbie

    VegasMac

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #7
    Cool thanks for the comments, My power book is wirelss through the airport, and i print wireless too. So I guess i just have to buy a hub, and connect it to the PC. And for Diamonds question it's really for me haha.
     
  8. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #8
    Well, if you have an Airport (basestation), then you don't even need a hub. Buy (or beg, borrow, steal) an ethernet cable and connect the PC to the basestation's extra LAN port.
     
  9. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #9
    Yeah, a $8 dollar eithernet cable will do, or just get your computer with wireless built in. I think its pretty much standard on Dell laptops as well as Gateways.
     

Share This Page