Can I delete Garageband?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dannnyh, Mar 16, 2006.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #1
    Starting to worry about how much HD space I have (30GB). I heard Garageband is massive and as I never use it I would like to remove it. Is it possible?

    Thanks
    Dan
     
  2. macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #2
    You can remove it (and its loops) without any problems – if you decide you want to use it in the future, you can just reinstall it from your disks. Easy as that and twice as simple.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #3
    Yeah, it won't hurt you.

    How much does GarageBand take up, with it's loops?
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #4
    what does Garageband actually do?
    I've never used it
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    It is massive.
    Delete garageband app
    Library/Application Support/Garageband/
    Library/Audio/Apple Loops/

    Technically it isn't garageband, its the loops, and software insturments.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    LOL, afraid to try? Think that the guitar will pop off the dock and smack you?
     
  7. macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #7
    A very quick and unscientific tot up of the Garageband stuff on my Mac... looks to be about 3GB worth of app, loops and files on there!

    It's times like this I'm glad that I've got a 160GB hard drive... :D
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    Great, Thanks a lot. Thought it would be more complicated than that. I'm sure I read somewhere that its possible to also remove Languages as well, any tips?
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #9
    As in translations or ... fonts or what are you looking for?
     
  10. macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    Yeah. All you have to do is get this DeLocalizer application. Free, too.

    EDIT: Download it here
     
  11. macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #11
    Languages as in Localisations? There's an app here that'll clear off any languages you don't want on your Mac.

    EDIT: lilstewart92 appears to be a little quicker than me with his links. A word of warning though – it doesn't appear to be tested for use on OS X higher than 10.3. I have used it on Panther and Tiger myself without any difficulties, though.
     
  12. macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #12
    Same here, no problems what so ever in both of them (10.3 and 10.4)
     
  13. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #13
    Thanks again. :)
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #14
    How much space does it clear up to run the delocalizer? And can you keep some languages if you want?
     
  15. macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #15
    You can choose exactly which languages you leave and which are deleted. On the machines I've run it on it usually clears off the best part of a Gigabyte.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    KD7IWP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    American living in Canada
    #16
    You can keep any language you want. It cleared 2 gigs :O on my Macbook Pro and on some computers it only does 20 megs, you never know.
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    cycocelica

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    #17
    Glad I got rid of that and iDVD and iMovie. All three takes up a lot of space.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    #18
    you still have 30 gigs of space
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    alexstein

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    #19
    If you are that concerned about the space on your Book why don't you get an external HDD.

    IIRC Garageband with all it's loops frees up about 3.7GB. It's not the app. itself it's the loops that use all the space up.
     

Share This Page