Can I do this with the Airport express?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by yg17, Mar 23, 2006.

  1. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #1
    OK, bear with me as this may be confusing.

    In the house I'll be moving into next semester, we have a cable modem w/ a wireless router in one bedroom. I'll more than likely be in a different bedroom. Thats not a problem for either of my Macs, as they both have Airport, but my PC (which will most likely become a PVR) doesn't have a wireless card. So, I was thinking that I would buy an AEx for my bedroom. What I'd like it to do is act as a wireless card for my PC, allowing it to access the internet. At the same time, I'd like to connect it to my stereo and play music to it from my PowerMac. I attached a diagram of what I want to do if it makes it any clearer. Basically, can an AEx do this? Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

    • aex.jpg
      aex.jpg
      File size:
      25.9 KB
      Views:
      31
  2. adk macrumors 68000

    adk

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    Stuck in the middle with you
    #2
    I'm pretty sure you can't do it that way, but you can share you Wireless or CAT 5 connection from your macs to a different computer.
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    Mine's set up similarly. I have an Express joined to a wireless network that acts as a wireless card for a PC. The only difference is that my network is AirPort-based meaning that I can use this Express to extend my range too. Unfortunately, you'll only be able to piggy back the Express onto your current network.

    So, assuming the Express will be in range of the original router, you should be fine.

    In your diagram, you imply you want the Power Mac to connect the Express to the network. This is unfortunately not possible but shouldn't be a problem.

    In short, you won't be able to extend your range and the Express must be able to pick up the original router's output. :)
     
  4. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #4
    I think you should be able to do that. The AEx will take an IP address from the router and create a local connection with the PC.

    Assuming the AEx can also talk AirTunes (the RED link in your fag-packet diagram ;)) with your PMac at the same time, for the AEx>Stereo.
     
  5. yg17 thread starter macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5

    The PM could connect to either the original network or the AEx one. Doesnt matter.

    But now that I think about it, it would be a lot cheaper to buy a WiFi card for my PC, and I plan on having the PowerMac and stereo right next to each other, might as well run a cable.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6

    Well, I'd piggy back the Express onto the current network. Having two separate networks would be a pain. It'd be quite easy to set up however...



    This is probably a much more sensible solution. :)
     
  7. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #7
    Well, I know you can use the AirPort Express as a ethernet-WiFi bridge, I've used it to do just that with my PC before. But I don't know if you can do that and have AirTunes streamed to your stereo at the same time.
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8

    Works for me. :cool:
     

Share This Page