can i get some help converting a raster to vector?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by krossfyter, Oct 24, 2006.

  1. macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,297
    Location:
    secret city
    #1
    would someone be so nice to convert a raster image to vector for me?
    someone with access to CS2 that is. its a 544kb jpg.
    if someone would be so helpful as to do this for me you can pm you email addy... or however you want to do this. i would appreciate it.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    D0ct0rteeth

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,231
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    #2
    Depending on the graphic it could quite possible that you'll have to recreate it.

    Adone Streamline, or "Live trace" in Illustrator has its limitations.

    - Doc
     
  3. macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,297
    Location:
    secret city
    #3

    yeh i know. but i want to see if i can get it done this way first before going that route. thnx man.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,487
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #4
    youd rather ask a stranger to spend a good amount of time tracing your image by hand, than using Live Trace?
     
  5. macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,297
    Location:
    secret city
    #5
    nah, im asking a stranger to use live trace in cs2 to vectorize my image... not manually trace it all out for me. im not sure how you got that from what i was saying. of course i wouldnt have a stranger do something so manually laborsome such as that. if a stranger is not able to easily use live trace on it and it ends up that i have to do it by hand... then ill do it by hand. but first before i go the route of tracing it myself which will take hours i want to see if it can be done automaticall with the click of a few buttons.

    again.. not sure where you got the idea that i wanted the stranger to do all this manually intensive work.


    thnx.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,297
    Location:
    secret city
    #6
    ah okay i see where u got that idea. i didnt indicate this:

    that i dont have access to illustrator cs2 at the moment and ive been trying to get some freeware vector conversion programs to no avail.

    its not so easy (to my understanding) doing vector conversion in illustrator cs.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7

    i am unaware of any vector "conversion" apps, especially free ones. look at it this way, vector is a fancy way of saying drawing on a computer, as apposed to your hand a pen and paper. sure you can get a machine to recreate a drawing, but is it gonna look how YOU want it?
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,487
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #8

    live trace is a useful tool


    while it would take longer tweaking the setting of live trace than to do the whole thing by hand, to achieve a result you are 100% happy with, it does have its uses.

    live trace is a good place to START tracing, as it has taken most of the hard work and simplified it into editable, moveable vectors.


    that said, Live Trace is a relatively recent addition to illustrator.

    was also included with Flash, but crippled compared to Illustrator's.

    all in all, its always been a hand done thing, as ive yet to see a stand alone tracer.
     
  9. macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,297
    Location:
    secret city
    #9
    ive used live trace on cs2 when i had acess to it and if i had access to it now im pretty sure it could do the job with the image i have. i dont need it perfect.

    believe me if i had access to cs2 i could get this done without having to bother you all. it does an okay job and thats all i need right now. but if its too much to ask.. .hey no probs guys... ill find some way.. i hope. im not going to raise an issue about it. i realize im asking strangers to do this and i would only be so grateful and respectful if anyone tried to help me. if it didnt work out.. i wouldnt hold it against anyone. thnx you all.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    #10
    posting the image might encourage more/better responses.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #11
    actually livetrace is based off of adobe streamline, which is older than most of the posters here. its just recently been added to illustrator in response to complaints of the killing of streamline. and im not saying live trace isnt a great part of illustrator, i use it ALL the time.

    the fact is, the OP doesnt have illustrator CS2, and is looking for a freeware app to do the same thing. im just stating i dont think thats available. For someone unexperienced in vector art, this small project could be very difficult. i am just stating that there is a certain "human" element needed to a point.
     
  12. macrumors 601

    krossfyter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,297
    Location:
    secret city
    #12
    its not a photo image. 3-4 color logo type image. ill try and post it. thnx.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #13
    if you post the image, i can see what i can do with it
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #14

    photo or not, if its raster, its raster... which means its pixel based, not math based as vector is.

    its like when i tell clients to give me a high res tiff file, they just open a bad jpeg, and resave it as a tiff. that does nothing to help me. i might as well just have the original sh*tty jpeg.
     
  15. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    8,647
    #15
    There is one (potrace) built into Inkscape. I don't know if I'd call it worse or better than Live Trace, but it's … different. It's really at its best when the original bitmap is in bad shape.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    zero2dash

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    Fenton, MO
    #16
    Do you still need this done? Let me know.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    G.Kirby

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Swansea, South Wales
    #17
    If the logo is made of simple shapes you could go via Photoshop. Use the magic wand or make manual selections, convert these to paths then export these paths to illustrator. Depending on how well you can make your selections and the complexity of the image you are tracing you may have a great deal of success. :)
     

Share This Page