Can I hook my PB up to a TV to play DVDs?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by yOyOYoo, Feb 24, 2005.

  1. yOyOYoo macrumors 6502a

    yOyOYoo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    I know I can use my PB to hook up to an external monitor, but what about a TV?

    Can I use DVDbackuped movies on my PB to play on a TV?

    Can I use my PB as a portable DVD player for a TV?

    If so, how and what do I need to buy?

    thanks!
     
  2. h0e0h macrumors 6502a

    h0e0h

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    West Monroe, Louisiana
    #2
    i bought the mini-dvi to composite (video) adapter from jr.com to project from my 12" PB to my 27" FlatScreen TV, but the resolution isn't all that great... i'd just buy a projector and set it up via VGA
     
  3. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #3
    I just plug my pb into my tv with the DVI cable. If I'm ever at a different tv without DVI I just use the svideo, and if not I use the svideo to composite adapter than came with the powerbook.
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    the only problem with this is that all the sound is going to be played through your powerbook, so either have a way to hook that up to the tv, or your movie may be a bit on the quiet side
     
  5. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #5
    I hook the sound up using a mini to rca cable. Never had any problems. :)
     
  6. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #6
    Same here.

    I just connect the three outputs (Speaker out L/R and SVideo) to my TV.

    Simple. Works well.

    Sushi
     
  7. staxor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #7
    check out this converter from apple. It says for mas mini or powermac G5, but email apple and ask. it might be usable on your DVI extension.
     
  8. Bishop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    #8
    Can the PB span when hooked up to a TV using S-Video or is it just mirrored?
     
  9. jackieonasses macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #9
    YOu can span it. Just most TV's are 640x480....


    kyle
     
  10. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #10
    yeah i tried playing warcraft on my tv hehe i got dizzy after a while
     

Share This Page