Can I install a wireless card for my PowerPC 233MHz G3

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by justmehere, Mar 11, 2006.

  1. justmehere
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    #1
    I have a Power PC 233MHz G3 and want to know if I can install a wireless card and if yes where can I can buy one ?
     
  2. iGary
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  3. Heb1228
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #3
    iMacs that slow won't take Airport cards, but you could get a USB wireless adapter to work. A powermac should be able to take a PCI card. Both of these depend on you running a fairly up to date version of OS X.

    Look at newegg.com for wireless adapters and look for ones that are Mac compatible.
     
  4. justmehere
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    #4
    i don't think its an iMac just a power pc...does that help ?
     
  5. ITASOR
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #5
    Beige colored tower type Mac?

    Is there a monitor built in?

    What OS are you running?
     
  6. mcmillan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #6
    I think I had that Mac. It doesn't have a USB port, but it does have a few PCI slots. But if I'm not wrong there was a built-in monitor one and a desktop-only one (sub-divided in tower and landscape). I never tried a wireless card, but since it was the first lot of G3s it's gonna be heavy for the system to manage with that.
     
  7. Heb1228
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #7
    Try going here if you're still having problems identifying what computer you have: http://www.apple-history.com/?

    It lists every model produced by Apple. We can't really help you if we don't know what kind of machine you have.

    EDIT: 1000th post! :D
     

Share This Page