Can I install OSX Tiger using parallels on my computer?

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by Yamcha, Dec 9, 2009.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I was wondering If its possible to install OSX Tiger using Parallels? I'm currently running Snow Leopard 10.6.2, but there are some things that I liked about OSX Tiger, and I was wondering if Parallels or VMWare fusion allows you to install Tiger? I just wanted to test it out and see if I like it.. instead of formatting and installing etc..

    anyone know?

    appreciate your help! :]
     
  2. macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    AFAIK, only OSX server can be run as a guest OS.
     
  3. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    No. You cannot install Tiger on any Intel-based computer that did not ship with it.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #4
    What if I got the OSX Tiger for intel?
     
  5. macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #5
    Let me help you here - if you have a Mac that shipped post-Tiger (i.e. loaded at factory with Leopard), you will not be able to run Tiger on it. Apple doesn't look back.
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #6
    There isn't a retail copy, only the restore discs that shipped with machines.
     
  7. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    Its basically illegal (against the EULA) to run OSX in a virtual environment, and technically speaking you can only run intel based OSs in a virtual environment. That means Tiger (retail disks are PPC AFAIK) will not work. Restore disks are such that they won't work as well.

    Either way, technically and legally you cannot run 10.4 in parallels.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #8
    Ah ic, that sucks =/.. Oh well, thanks everyone for your time and replies :]
     
  9. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    Let me add the simple fact that where there's a will there's a way...

    There seems to be a VMware Tiger VM floating round dah webb.

    Maybe Parallels can import it.... not sure.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #10
    Awesome, thanks I will give it ago :]
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #11
    I couldn't get it to work unfortunately, I think it may because I've got an i5 processor.. It gave some errors
     

Share This Page