Can I install TIGER legally?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by stevie, Aug 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stevie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    #1
    I just bought an iMac with Tiger on it of course. I also have a Powerbook which is about a year old. Is it okay to install the Tiger disk that came with theImac on my powerbook? THanks in advance..
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Neither legal nor advisable since the PowerBook requires parts of the OS that will not be provided on the iMac. Sorry. :(
     
  3. macdon401 macrumors 6502

    macdon401

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    #3
    This may be a real lame question but could he install a retail version of Tiger he had purchased in both machines and if so what are the differences in these versions... the retail and the one that came with his G5??
    R
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    He doesn't have a retail version of Tiger AFAIK but they'll work in any Tiger-compatible Mac. However, as of a few years ago (if that), Apple started putting in computer-specific versions of the OS with their corresponding Macs. This means that the iMac Restore DVD (or CD, I forget) has been specifically designed for the iMac hardware and is therefore only optimum when used on an iMac.

    Technically, if he had a retail version of Tiger he could install it in both machines but this would still be illegal unless he had paid for the correct amount of licences (one extra in this case).
     
  5. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
  6. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #6
    I think you would be legal if you had the retail Tiger to install it on both.
    Because then you have 2 licenses:
    1 that came with the iMac
    1 that you bought (retail Tiger)

    I think legally you could use the retail Tiger to install on both machines (sinces you have 2 licenses) but why you want to do that is another matter.
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    I'm not sure how this retail box of Tiger thing popped up. :confused:

    Just so long as there are as many licences (and you get one for the latest operating system at the time with the new computer) there's no real problem other than the fact the Restore DVD will not provide an optimised version of the OS on anything but the type of computer it came with. :)
     
  8. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #8
    The Family Pack is $199. Up to 5 Macs in your household.
     
  9. macdon401 macrumors 6502

    macdon401

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    #9
    Sorry mad jew, it was me... if Im not naming my threads properly I'm stirring the S__T with lame questions...LOL! Sorry!
    R
     
  10. stevie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    #10
    so this is to say it can't be done or just not legally?
     
  11. stridey macrumors 65816

    stridey

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts, Connecticut
    #11
    It's not possible.
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  13. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #13
    No you can't. A friend tried to install Tiger on his iBook using an iMac G5 Tiger Disk and his iBook rejected it.
     
  14. ASP272 macrumors 6502

    ASP272

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #14
    I have seen this work using a Powerbook G4 Tiger disk to upgrade a Powermac G4 desktop. It worked just fine. Still illegal though.
     
  15. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #15
    Doesn't Apple "Ping" the computer to see what OS you have installed to check for an illegal install.
     
  16. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #16
    Not to my knowledge. The install disk just checks to see that the computer meets system requirements and has enough disk space available.

    It works on the honor system. Apple is depending on a person's moral values.
     
  17. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #17
    I think we have an answer, nothing more to see here. Move along. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page