Can I install VISTA oem on my apple?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by X1Lightning, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #1
    like the title says, can i buy the oem version of vista and install in on my apple? or do i need to buy the retail version?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    what do you mean oem version? where did you get it?

    I would assume you can, I don't know why you wouldn't be able to...But I don't know what this oem version you speak of is, so I don't know for sure.:apple:
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #4
    I do 't know why not. I use the OEM version of Windows XP. You can buy the OEM versions from NewEgg, but they state constraints against buying it unless they have a record of you buying components (CPU or motherboard)...or so they say. I haven't bought such things from them for almost two years and the order still went through fine. If you can't get it from NewEgg, Tiger Direct also sells the OEM versions.

    OEM version is no different, just comes without the little pamphlet of instructions - big deal. Ignore whatever you read on the package or on the disk. It will install normally. You get 5 or so installs using the reg number on the certificate of authenticity, after that you have to go through the automated telephone activation BS. Takes about 6 minutes and the phone computer gives you a new reg number.

    Be careful about buying Windows software. Those super cheap deals where you see Vista for $19.95 are mostly scams. The price for Vista Home Premium 32-bit (don't get 64 bit) is about $112 - $120. Less than that and you run the risk of getting screwed.

    I went for XP instead of Vista. I wanted to avoid potential issues with two new-version OS's (Leopard and Vista)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for the info Hmac, I'm debating between xp and vista, do you know if i get VM Fusion can i do both xp and vista?
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #6
    I just ordered the OEM version of Windows XP SP2 for my daughter today. Check the bootcamp manual first?

    http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/Boot_Camp_Install-Setup.pdf

    She needs to run mat lab so the need for xp on leopard. I went with xp instead of vista for 2 reasons.

    1. Vista has a bigger install footprint and it's larger than 32GB. This is a laptop and the disk is 160GB but hey, she's already got half of it filled with music & movies.
    2. Want to avoid any compatabiltiy problems with the software & vista.

    Look at what windows programs you need to run and make sure they run on vista.

    25 November update:

    Updated the MBP to 10.4.11, then to Leopard 10.5.1, then updated the MBP to XP. Just followed the instructions in the Bootcamp manual. Only hitch was right after the license agreement ok no disks showed up to partition. Rebooted machine, restarted bootcamp, gave it another try and it went smoothly after that. At the very end I ran microsoft update and had 89 updates to install to xp/sp2. Used a 16 GByte partition as my daughter only needs to run 1 program.

    So far all is well.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    webgoat

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    i purchased windows xp pro oem from newegg and use it in boot camp and vmware fusion
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #8
    :confused: You are saying an OEM install of Vista is 32GB? More like 10-15GB.

    But yeah, I went with OEM XP MCE over Vista too. :)
     
  9. macrumors demi-god

    VideoFreek

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Philly
    #9
    You can install Vista OEM on your Mac...I went with Vista Ultimate OEM and it works fine. And it doesn't have a 32gb footprint...it requires 15 or 16gb free for the install (it copies all installation files to your hard drive before it begins installing), but once installation is finished it consumes about 6gb.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #10
    Vista Home Premium OEM - Could Not Install - Any Help?

    Hello,

    I just spent $110 on an OEM version of Vista Home Premium to install on Leopard. I just tried running boot camp. I did the standard default partition of 32 GB. My MacBook Pro went to reboot, but when it did, it said that it can't boot from the installed disk (which was Vista). I had to power down twice to get it go boot back up in Mac. I then called support and waited on hold for two hours to find out that you can't use an OEM version to install in Leopard.

    Is there any way around this? I hope that I didn't just make a $110 mistake! Any help would be greatly appreciated. This is my first Mac, so I need Windows to run some programs that I won't be able to get for my Mac.

    Thank you very much
     
  11. macrumors demi-god

    VideoFreek

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Philly
    #11
    I assure you, many around here (myself included) have successfully installed an OEM version. I love the way techs will give you a BS answer just to blow you off!

    Some suggestions...you didn't give too much detail, so forgive me if this seems too basic.

    1) The first thing to do is ensure you're using a legitimate OEM copy of Vista, and not some of the pirate-ware that is sold by certain online sellers. Check the information here. In particular, it should have come with a Certificate of Authenticity (COA); the web link will show you examples of what they should look like. Also, check the physical condition of the disk itself--make sure there are no scratches or other defects that might prevent data from being read correctly.

    2) From within Mac OS X, use Disk Utility to verify that the new partition was successfully created. It might be unformatted, or it might be formatted FAT32. Either is fine at this point.

    3) You should be able to boot directly from the Vista DVD (you are using the DVD version, aren't you? The multi-CD version will not work). To do this, restart the machine and then as soon as the screen goes black, press and hold down the alt/option key until you are presented with a choice of booting into OS X or booting from the disk. Use the arrow keys to select the disk, then press enter. This should boot you into the installer, and you follow the on-screen prompts from there. When asked which partition to install to, be sure to select the new partition you created and NOT your OS X partition, or else you'll be reinstalling OS X! :(

    Let me know if this works for you, or feel free to come back with any problems you encounter after following these steps.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #12

    Videofreek,

    Thank you very much for the info. Yes, I was using the DVD version of Vista Home Prem purchased from newegg.com. I was actually able to convince them to give me a credit for that DVD upon ordering a retail version in its place. I figured that I wouldn't be able to get it to work because of the error saying that the disk or device wasn't bootable. Even though I had to spend more, at least I didn't waste the money in the event that I wasn't able to get the OEM version to work. Again, I definitely appreciate the help!
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #13
    I had no problem installing an OEM version of XP that I bought from NewEgg, but I didn't do any of that stuff - I just opened Boot Camp from Leopard and followed the instructions. Very straightforward - create the partition, restart with XP DVD in place, go through the usual Windows install baloney, select the install for the Boot Camp partition you created, restart with the Leopard disk to install the necessary drivers. Done.
     
  14. macrumors demi-god

    VideoFreek

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Philly
    #14
    Right, for most people it goes smoothly, but the poster was having problems, so I was trying to help him troubleshoot the installation. That's what this forum is for.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #15
    i have the same problem

    we are talking about vista home premium oem

    not xp-pro oem

    i have installed xp-pro no dramas
     

Share This Page