Can I Manually Insert A Password In Keychain?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by prairiefire, May 18, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #1
    Here's my problem: I have a new network. All of my computers, iPads, and iPhones -- except my MBP -- were able to log on the first time and save the password to the keychain.

    When I tried to do it with the MBP, I got a box that said "Connection Failed" -- but, I was actually logged on. However, the password was never stored.

    So, I have to log on every time I start up or after the computer sleeps.

    If I log on without the "Remember Password" box checked, I get logged on, without a "connection failed" message.

    So, I'm assuming that I have a problem with the keychain. If I don't try to save the password, I get on without a message. If I try to save it, I get on but with the message.

    Either way, it's a pain to have to log on in my own home.

    I know nothing about the Keychain.

    Anyone see a solution?

    TIA

    Steve

    PS. I am running 10.7.3
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
  3. macrumors 6502

    AndyMoore

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #3
    You can find the Keychain application in /Applications/Utilities/Keychain Access.

    Open it up and find your Router, double click it and tick the show password box, then you should be able to enter the password there.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #4
    The Router Is Not in the Keychain

    So, I want to try to add it. Just looked through the key chain and there seems to be a way to add something new -- but I'm not sure how to fill the boxes in the entry window. Not sure what they are asking for.

    Is there somewhere where this is explained?

    Am I right, that once I enter it manually, I'll be locked in and need not log in each time i start up my computer?

    Thanks for the help.

    sjh
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    AndyMoore

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #5
    This is not something I've ever encountered myself and as the keychain is so important, I'm loathe to advise any other actions. I just don't know enough about it.

    On that note, you could run a verify against your keychain just to make sure it's healthy.

    In Keychain Access, select the Keychain Access menu and then select Keychain First Aid. From there you can run a Verify against the keychain.
     

Share This Page