Can I not use a 3G data card on my mackbook pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iRhyknow, Mar 5, 2007.

  1. iRhyknow macrumors member

    iRhyknow

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    #1
    I cant seem to find a slot to plug it in, so I know it wont work, but is there another option? An adapter or something?
     
  2. epochblue macrumors 68000

    epochblue

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #2
    You'd be looking for an ExpressCard to PCMCIA converter card, but I don't know if such a thing exists as it would be terribly unsightly...
     
  3. quovadis macrumors regular

    quovadis

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    in PA
    #4

    Another option: purchase a USB adapter for the card ..... have accessed up to 4GB cards this way on my MBP
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Either you or I have the wrong end of the stick. I think it's you. I'm assume 3G is referring to Third Generation, as in the newer high speed mobile (cell) phone standards. A 3G data card lets you access the web at reasonably high speeds over these networks. It's not a 3Gb memory card.
     
  5. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #6
    I just got a USB one from Vodafone Ireland recently (part of a contract). It's a Huwaei E220. Works a treat, but seems to be a tad pricey on its own
     
  6. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #7
    Awesome product, works great on Mac's - highly recommended (mine's Vodafone branded, mainland UK, currently gets 1.2mbps where I am).

    It seems odd how Apple has led the charge on laptop advancements for so many, many years, and yet they don't offer integrated 3G in any of their machines. I mean christ, Dell, HP and Lenovo are all in on the action :(
     
  7. quovadis macrumors regular

    quovadis

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    in PA
    #8
    yep - you're right. Sorry!
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    The standing excuse had been that the US market is too fractured between GSM, CDMA, etc. But the US is becoming more and more GSM-centric, and obviously, this has not stopped Apple from focusing the lion's share of their cell work on GSM. So now that the iPhone is a GSM device, perhaps the door is open for Apple to also start supporting the 2.5G and 3G data services that GSM devices use, as there should be plenty of people who'd use EDGE in the US and a good handful already for 3GSM, and of course more elsewhere.
     

Share This Page