Can I overclock my g3?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by halfprep455, Feb 24, 2007.

  1. halfprep455 macrumors regular

    halfprep455

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland USA
    #1
    Is there any way I can overclock my b&w g3 350mhz?
     
  2. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #2
    Yes, but Macs do not have BIOS like their PC counterparts. Overclocking on a Mac requires moving Jumpers on the Logic board. I did it on my iBook 700NHZ. A friend of mine did it to his G3, although I don't know exactly what he did. I do know that he had to install another fan to keep the computer running.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    I remember back when you did overclock using the jumpers on a PC.


    Overclocking B&W G3 Love

    http://lowendmac.com/macdan/02/0710ek.html

    http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/G3-ZONE/clock.html
     
  4. halfprep455 thread starter macrumors regular

    halfprep455

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland USA
    #4
    Is there like a website or something that has a diagram on how to set the jumpers for over clocking?
     
  5. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #5
    lookie here :)

    http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/G3-ZONE/yosemite/OC.html

    been there, done that many many times. Do it in 50Mhz increments though, until you get instability, then back off by 50Mhz.......
     
  6. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #6
    Gah! You don't even know how frustrating it is to me when people don't type "g3 jumpers" into the little Google menu on the top right of Safari. It's there for a reason!

    But fine, whatever, here:
    http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/manuals/zif/zifquickstart72.pdf

    I'd click on it for you too, but I can't physically reach through your computer. Yet.
     
  7. halfprep455 thread starter macrumors regular

    halfprep455

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland USA
    #7
    I tried looking it up an google and ask jeeves and I didnt find anything. Thank you for the links. I always have bad luck on search engines for some reason. lol.
     
  8. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #8
    Ah it's cool, sorry, didn't mean to come off as that much of a d*ck. Good luck overclocking, though - I've got my beige G3 OC'd over here, and it's noticeably faster.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    The hardest thing was finding jumpers that would fit. Even the tiny hard drive ones or the stock Radio Shack hard drive jumpers are big. It becomes a problem when you have them right next to each other. They fit just fine otherwise.
     

Share This Page