Can i play XBOX360 on my IMAC G5

Discussion in 'Games' started by jjstokes344, Apr 11, 2006.

  1. jjstokes344 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #1
    I know that i have to have a VGA cable i think it is called but i bought one today and it was the wrong one. Does anyone know what the cable is and is any one even playing Xbox on there Mac's? Thanks a lot for the help.
     
  2. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #2
    Strictly speaking, what you want to do is possible but it is not easy or cheap.
     
  3. Abulia macrumors 68000

    Abulia

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Kushiel's Scion
    #3
    Does the iMac have a video in?

    Short answer, no, you can't.

    [Edit] I checked the specs and on the Intel iMac at least, there is no video input. The mini-DVI port can be used to span to an external monitor for mirroring, but you can't get signal into an iMac.
     
  4. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
  5. Compatiblepoker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville Beach
    #5
    Nothing is cheap for gaming anymore.
     
  6. cartoonfox macrumors regular

    cartoonfox

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #6
    I was very close to buying this, so that I could rid myself of my fat tube TV and play gamecube on my 20" widescreen mac monitor, until I read that there is very slight lag with it. Which is fair enough for watching tv, but when playing games, you're going to notice even a tiny bit of lag. So I didn't bother.
    If anyone has this for games, could they post here their impressions? maybe the lag isn't noticable?

    edit: hmm it now says, "EyeTV EZ does not do hardware encoding, therefore incoming video signals appear on the screen with zero latency, providing an excellent live play experience." on the webpage, maybe they have updated it?


    peace
     
  7. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #7
    You were probably looking at the regular eyeTV the first time...
     
  8. Haoshiro macrumors 68000

    Haoshiro

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    USA, KS
  9. cubist macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Location:
    Muncie, Indiana
  10. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #10
    Technically no, but the latency the product has is probably very little or not measurable
     
  11. cartoonfox macrumors regular

    cartoonfox

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #11
    wow, maybe i should pick this up after all!!

    one thing i never found the answer for last time, was that does it support 60Hz? or just 50Hz. Lots of the best (UK) gamecube games have 60Hz which runs much smoother than 50Hz, so this is important to me.

    would be cool to play resident evil in widescreen on my 20" monitor though!
    hope it doesn't look too blurry... maybe temporarily taking my resolution down to 640x480 will help?


    peace
     
  12. Haoshiro macrumors 68000

    Haoshiro

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    USA, KS
    #12
    Quality definitely won't be great. I believe it only does 480i (which is 60Hz, afaik).

    It would likely look even worse at fullscreen, I'd hope for a windowed mode if you are concerned with quality.
     
  13. IEatApples macrumors 6502a

    IEatApples

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere (Norway)
    #13
    And the answer is?...
    And I have the EyeTV EZ, but I suspect it won't work, well not great anyway.
    Are there no other options?
     

Share This Page