can I pop a HD from an LC III into a LC575 Quadra?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by windsmith, Jun 12, 2006.

  1. windsmith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Wappingers Falls, NY
    #1
    Hi. Can anybody please help me. My dad had an LCIII but the motherboard blew. He has quite a bit of data on his hard drive. I would bid on a LC575 (on ebay) if I knew that I could just pop my dad's hard drive into this. Any thoughts? ... and yes I have tried getting used LCIII's, but that didn't work because they didn't have OS's (dad misplaced his original OS disks) - seems LCIII's w/OS's installed are pretty scarce. thanks in advance!
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Yeah.. should just be a SCSI drive. I can't say whether it will boot or not, but the HD should work just fine.
     
  3. ManchesterTrix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    #3

    Wouldn't the Hard Drive you're taking out of Dad's LCIII have the OS, or am I missing something?
     
  4. windsmith thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Wappingers Falls, NY
    #4
    thanks for the replies ... I guess you're right, his OS should be on his HD. But I'm confused and here's why. I got a used LCIII on ebay (it had been part of a university computer room I think). I took the hard drive out of it and put his in it. It booted up, and there was a screen that said "Educational Edition". I don't think that's what his screen normally looked like when he booted up, so I thought the screen was an artifact of the computer being 'new' (except for the HD). I don't understand, to be honest. I must seem pretty dense here. I will learn fast though I promise! Anyway the computer never got past that "Educational Edition" screen, to the part with the user interface, where you move the mouse around and open folders and stuff (I know I sound so technically shrewd, don't I?), and I figured that was because we needed system disks. But maybe i was wrong. Please have mercy friendly Mac cousins, and enlighten me further!
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Getting a proper set of Mac OS floppies would be key for you.
     

Share This Page