Can I put 2 - segate 1.5tb drives in a mac pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nomadpass, Sep 30, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #1
    can i put in 2 plus more? or just 2?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    Eustis, FL
    #2
    I don't see why not!
     
  3. macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #3
    yuppers… you can put in 4 if you like! 6 TB is currently Mac Pro's maximum storage. but you can always hold a hard drive in the lower optical drive bay and use one of the free SATA ports on the mobo totalling the storage to 7.5 TB! use Google to find a guide on how to do this.
     
  4. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #4
    Yes. :)

    You can even install 8 of them using a kit offered by Maxupgrades.com. An additional HDD controller would be required of course. ;)
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    #5
    RAID 0 stripe them for best performance!
     
  6. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    Meh... I like having some redundancy, so lean toward RAID 5. Toss in an ARC-1680ix series controller, and watch 'em scream. :eek:
    Now if I could only afford to use Seagate 15K.6 SAS drives,....[​IMG] :p
     

Share This Page