Can I put AppleWorks on an intel mac?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Amy2005, Sep 28, 2006.

  1. Amy2005 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, England
    #1
    Hi

    I have a PowerPC iMac and my friend has just got a new intel mac and I was going to put AppleWorks that came on my mac onto theirs via my USB memory stick. Is it safe to do this or is AppleWorks that comes on a PowerPC not compatible with intel?
    I was going to put Office on for them but I have used up all my 3 installs.

    Thanks
    Amy
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Oh really?

    And yes it'll work via Rosetta.
     
  3. Amy2005 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, England
    #3
    Thank you. It will proberbly be on the bundled software cd that came with their mac i think.

    Thanks
     
  4. SpookTheHamster macrumors 65816

    SpookTheHamster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #4
    I don't recall getting Apple Works with my iMac. You get a demo of iWork, but no Apple Works. It's probably a good thing, Apple Works is a pretty poor app. I bought it when I got my 1GHz PB, and it seemed outdated even then.
     
  5. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #5
    True yet its still better then nothing. I also have a few things I would like to bring over from PPC and Appleworks is one of those things. Apple should have updated it in my view. I guess Apple decided not to replace it or update it?
     
  6. grahamtearne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    #6
    Try NeoOffice, similar to Microsoft Office, only free. Much better than Apple Works.

    Graham
     
  7. lOUDsCREAMEr macrumors regular

    lOUDsCREAMEr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Location:
    Safari desert
  8. steve_hill4 macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #8
    Not with the Intel Macs. Only TextEdit, Office for Mac Test Drive and iWork 30 day trial.

    I installed an older, (or should I say current), version of Appleworks on my MBP and it works fine, but merely takes up disk space as I never use it.

    Still not tried Appleworks as a drag and drop transfer though.
     

Share This Page