Can I put the ATI Radeon X1900 XT into Power Mac G5 Quad?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Zoowatch, Aug 7, 2006.

  1. Zoowatch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #1
    I have been wanting to upgrade the graphics card of my Quad for a long time.

    I know that it has PCIe... so can I buy the ATI Radeon X1900 XT from Apple and put that into my Quad?

    thanks for helping
     
  2. Modano macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #2
    I'd like to do this too. Does anyone know if it's possible? Thanks!
     
  3. Butts M Biggilo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    Not Sure

    Though I want to do this too. I will call ATI and let u know.
    Butts
     
  4. Butts M Biggilo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    Apple Seller said

    That the card should fit in there but he cant promise it will work. He said one of the requirements is that you have a Mac Pro. So basically someone has to test it. He says its possible.... but Im not about to blow 5 hundy on a whim.
    Butts
     
  5. Modano macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #5
    Yeah me neither. Someone has to have one lying around. I guess we'll find out soon enough.
     

Share This Page