Can I run a windows based flat panel LCD...

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by steveg56, Feb 4, 2003.

  1. steveg56 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Location:
    san ramon, ca
    #1
    from my Ti book 800 DVI? I know that I can run a studio display from apple but they are just to pricey for me. Is the Dvi connector different that what the Dells and sonys use to connect additional LCD monitors? Also, can I use my powerbook while the lid is closed with a external keyboard and mouse? Sorry new to Apple products and just not sure.
     
  2. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #2
    Re: Can I run a windows based flat panel LCD...

    Short and sweet answer:

    Yes.


    Not any different at all, DVI is a standard connector, it's the same on all Tibooks, PCs and monitors etc. No problem here.
     
  3. steveg56 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Location:
    san ramon, ca
  4. losfp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney
    #4
    Make sure you get a display that definitely has a DVI connector though. Some have just DVI, some have just VGA, and the pricier ones have BOTH.
     
  5. GeeYouEye macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #5
    Re: Re: Can I run a windows based flat panel LCD...



    Slight correction there... Most modern DVI is standard, but there are something like 5 flavors of it. The current standard on the PB and most new LCDs is DVI-I. As long as you get a relatively new monitor (made within about the past 2 years), you should be fine.
     
  6. neonart macrumors 65816

    neonart

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Location:
    Near a Mac since 1993.
    #6
    Samsung has some FANTASTIC monitors at great prices! The 181T and 191T are very cool.
     
  7. kenkooler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    Mexico City
    #7
    You can run it with the lid closed as long as you have an external keyboard and mouse connected.
     
  8. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #8
    as na aove poster mentioned and i am re-iterating -
    MAKE SURE IT IS DVI
    - it may be VGA. i know that the hercules LCD line is VGA, sad they look good.
     

Share This Page