Can I Run Diablo 3?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Kikooo, Jun 9, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    #1
    Specs !!!

    Mac OS X
    Processor: 2.26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    Memory: 2 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
    Version: 10.6.8

    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M:

    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M

    I am NOT a computer guy at all !!!!
     
  2. jgc
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    I don't think you'll have a chance. Sorry, dude.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #3
    It will run but the performance will be pretty poor and pretty much non playable. Even with everything on the lowest settings you'll probably get less then 10 frames per second. You might get a little more under Bootcamp running Windows but it won't be worth it.

    ----------

    You might want to have a look at the following threads.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1374104&highlight=diablo

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1308185&highlight=diablo
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    In OS X? Yeah, like 800 x 600 all low and hardly passable (20s) FPS at that.

    In Bootcamp it sounds like you have a shot for 20-40 FPS with beta drivers and still docked resolution, but 1024 x 768 or something.

    In short - no, probably not worth the hassle for borderline bearable play settings.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    AlexMaximus

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boondocks
    #5
    I have good news for you. Just two days ago, Blizzard released a new patch for diablo3 running on mac's. As of now it should work with the 9400m. I would get a Guestpass and give it a try. Make sure you install that patch!

    http://us.battle.net/d3/en/blog/6214188
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    #6
    It's now playable with the 9400M on the two lowest resolutions with all possible graphic options turned down to the lowest.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Tsuchiya

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #7
    So is Diablo 3 just not worth playing on minimum settings?

    A copy arrived this morning from Amazon (I forgot I put an order down...) and looking at the minimum specs it should run on my Macbook Pro.

    However if it's really going to struggle I would just rather return the game and pick it up later on when I've upgraded my Mac...
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #8
    the game runs on core 2 duo with 9400m, but not at high settings. to get best performance possible out of the card (meaning 15-30fps), it's recommended to run everything on low, and possibly in windowed mode at ~1024x650.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #9
    You can run Diablo 3, but whether or not it's playable, and more importantly, what difficulty you plan to play up to you.

    Under boot camp with the newest Nvidia drivers (which are newer than their beta ones), the game is playable at the lowest resolution with all settings on low and all effects off. The experience is terrible, and there are still certain parts of the game (Act 2 sewers, certain parts of Acts 3/4) which are barely playable, if that, but you can get through Normal - Hell difficulty without too much of an issue.

    That being said, if you plan on playing hardcore or Inferno difficulty (or worse, both), I personally wouldn't recommend it. You can get through Act 1 Inferno fine, but the inconsistencies of frame rate, and the trouble dealing with certain parts of Acts 2-4 will just make the experience more frustrating than it is enjoyable (this is ignoring the awful game design decisions Blizzard made regarding Inferno).
     
  10. macrumors member

    pinholestars

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #10
    I have the early 2008 macbook pro which had an 8600M and it runs acceptably for me. I have the settings all turned down, and the resolution is a little low, but it's definitely playable and enjoyable. More so on my i7 iMac, but for portable Diablo, my macbook runs it fine.

    ----------

    But that also is a dedicated card, so if yours is a shared...I don't know then :)
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

Share This Page