Can I run Parallels and Boot Camp together?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Mr.Gadget, Oct 17, 2006.

  1. Mr.Gadget macrumors 6502

    Mr.Gadget

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #1
    I have my base OSX installation that I put Parallels into. I could not get Parallels to work for a certain ap (see other posts) so I tried to put Boot Camp on next.
    BC said it could not partition my drive since some items were not moveable. I am assuming this is Parallels? I had no problems installing BC on my wife's Macbook that did not use Parallels.
    Thanks !
     
  2. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #2
    I've run both at once...but I installed bootcamp first.
     
  3. Mr.Gadget thread starter macrumors 6502

    Mr.Gadget

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #3
    I've just finished blowing away the system and reloading OSX and Bootcamp 1.1.... Not sure I will run Parallel's yet. I would like a larger HDD first! I gave BC 25MB. I think that should be enough for business, no games.
    Thanks for the info, at least I know I can do it now.
     
  4. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #4
    if you meant 25GB, that's enough for a couple of games even, provided you are running XP, on bootcamp

    if you meant 25MB, that's NOT enough for jack

    bootcamp and parallels do not interfere with each other whatsoever, parallel is just another application like any other application in OS X, to bootcamp. whether or not it can partition the drive, is independent from existence of parallel... and parallel does not care for bootcamp either

    so you should have no problem installing parallel

    i dont remember which one i installed first, (wait, i def. installed parallel first) you might want to repair permission if you fail to partition the drive, i had that problem

    (and plus, why wouldn't you install it if you bought it, unless you didn't buy it...:p)
     
  5. Mr.Gadget thread starter macrumors 6502

    Mr.Gadget

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #5
    Sorry, yeah, I meant 25GB. That was some time ago when we could get away with a 25MB harddrive, huh? hehe
    Well, I just purchased Parallels from CompUSA yesterday and have been goofing around with it all day today. They offer a money back garauntee if not satisfied. I bought it expressly to use with Norton Ghost and a WYSE terminal imaging program I run at work. But, if I cannot get it to work with either, I figure I'd save my money and just use Boot Camp.
    It would be convenient to keep if I can get around the USB issues.

    Also, do you know if it is possible to swap the 120GB drive in the MBP for a 160GB? On my own that is... I have swapped out plenty of hard drives in notebooks but never a MBP. Adding RAM was cake, but I've heard buzzing about the HDD being a bear or downright not possible unless you want to void your warranty. I guess I can search the board for that question.
    It would entice me to keep Parallels and BC installed if I can get a few more gigs squeezed in.
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Just a quick note to remind you that unlike Boot Camp, the Parallels VM is just an OS X file which you could in principle stored anywhere including an external or network drive.

    B
     
  7. Mr.Gadget thread starter macrumors 6502

    Mr.Gadget

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #7
    That's true, but then I run into the external HDD slowness/lockup issues...
    The Parallels folks are addressing that issue in the next 3.x release they say so I may just hang onto it. It was $69 at CompUSA minus a $20 rebate ($49), so the deal is definately good!
     
  8. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #8
    Yes it is possible. Its a little involved, but pretty straight forward. Takes about 10 mins.

    Heres some video links

    http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/installation.cfm
     
  9. Mr.Gadget thread starter macrumors 6502

    Mr.Gadget

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #9

Share This Page