can I still use iMac Apple Remote with new Macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by aneftp, Feb 28, 2008.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #1
    I brought a new 2.2 white macbook on 2/10/08 so I was not happy when they released the slightly updated macbook with the Penryn chips.

    I paid the $120 restocking fee yesterday 2/27/08.

    I have not opened the new macbook yet but I know they do not come with the Apple Remotes anymore.

    I still have my apple remote from my iMac. Can I use the same Apple Remote with the macbook?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom (UK)
    #2
    should work fine unless its been paired.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #3
    stupid question. But I think the Apple Remote's been paired to my 24in iMac. I've used it once.

    Can I unpair it? Is the Remote Bluetooth based?


    EDIT: I went here and got the answers. Just saved myself $20 bucks for an additional remote. I was already out $120 for the restocking fee. Trying to make my money back by reselling the preinstalled 160GB hard drive and the 2GB of RAM on craigslist.

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=302545
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom (UK)
    #4
  5. macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #5
    Thanks...

    that definitely helped, with my new MB 2.4, so now I can take the 2nd one (that I just bought yesterday) back. :cool:
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    The remote is IR and it can be paired with a new computer/ipod dock/Apple TV at any time by pressing and holding the Menu and Next/Fast-forward buttons simultaneously for 5 seconds.
     

Share This Page