Can I swap a iMac G3's motherboard?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by EddyC30, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    EddyC30

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #1
    I have a 400MHz iMac G3 but the CRT stopped working one day and I just got off the phone with a guy who is going to sell me his G3 but the only thing on that iMac that works is the CRT. Can I swap the motherboard on my G3 to the one I'm buying and still have everything work right?
     
  2. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    You should be able to, as the screen just connects with the old Apple RGB connector. It may be dangerious with the CRT and all, but for the most part, it should work.

    TEG
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    EddyC30

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Thanks. Also can I swap the hard drive with Panther on it to the new iMac without having to do anything else?
     
  4. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    Yes.

    TEG
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    EddyC30

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Thank you very much
     
  6. g-7
    macrumors 6502

    g-7

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    Replacing the motherboard with another one that has the same CPU is possible,
    but if you wish to put 600Mhz motherboard into 400Mhz iMac G3, it won't fit.
    You would have to prepare a CPU radiator by yourself.

    You might find this document useful: http://www.scribd.com/doc/103447/iMac-G3-Disassembly-Guide

    Good luck :)
     

Share This Page