Can I switch to Virgin Mobile if I already have an unlocked iPhone 4?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by petrucci666, Jun 7, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    This technically should be possible if it's factory unlocked.
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    #2
    Depends on the terms of your current contract if you have one, and I think it also depends on whether the iPhone is AT&T or Verizon.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #4
    Virgin Mobile is using Sprint's network. To have an "unlocked" phone, i assume you have a GSM phone? Therefore, I do not believe it would work for you.

    Would be interesting to see if a Sprint 4S would work on Virgin.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    Tinmania

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Location:
    Aridzona
    #5
    No way. That is what I hate about CDMA phones.




    Michael
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    #6
    Just FYI guys, but there is now a way to unlock a CDMA iPhone for U.S. GSM use. I'm running a Verizon 4s on a Straight Talk SIM card right now. It's called Gevey Ultra S, and it actually works. Only caveat is you have to be jailbroken because the unlock requires a Cydia app to complete.

    But I'd like to know too - what network can a Verizon iphone work on, without being unlocked? Only Verizon? Or any CDMA network?
     
  7. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #7
    Technically a CDMA phone should be able to work on any (compatible) CDMA network, but it's the policy of (all?) CDMA carriers in the US to NOT allow customers to register a device that they didn't sell on their network.

    There's no actual difference between an iPhone 4S sold by Verizon, Sprint or AT&T.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    #8
    Right. I was just curious if I ever wanted to switch from Straight Talk with my Verizon 4s to something else, what my options would be. Using the Gevey unlock, I guess I could go anywhere, but without it I could only do Verizon.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone)

    Unlocked CDMA can work on any CDMA network. However, that is fairly redundant as only the US (and a carrier in South Korea) use CDMA network. Everywhere else it is GSM.

    Thanks for the replies everyone!
     
  10. KTF
    macrumors regular

    KTF

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Location:
    New York City
    #10
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GrfICP9pguo
    To Be Honest I Dont Know What Is This Flashed Thing!
     
  11. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    No, you have an unlocked GSM iphone 4.
    Its not CDMA compatible and will only work with GSM networks.
    VM is CDMA.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #12
    Question

    So can i make a sprint iphone 4s work with a virgin mobile plan?

    ----------

    can i make a sprint iphone 4 or 4s work with virgin mobile?
     
  13. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Only if VM lets you activate it on their network.
     
  14. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #14
    No, as mentioned before, the CDMA carriers in the US don't allow it (by policy).

    It would be technically possible to do it, but they don't allow it.

    Why?

    Some would say that it's to discourage people switching to a different network.

    Others say that it's about the additional support burden.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Location:
    Ozark, Missouri
    #15
    All iPhone 4S's are "world phones." The hardware in every 4S is the same regardless of carrier.

    However, if you buy an unlocked iPhone 4S, the CDMA side is not activated and cannot be activated by any known means. Therefore, you cannot bring an unlocked 4S to Virgin Mobile, a CDMA carrier.
     
  16. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #16
    MetroPCS allows "foreign" phones but only supports specific models, and an iPhone isn't one of them. Of course, this doesn't help with VM!
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    #17
    Sunsean I was thinking of trading my evil v 4g for an Iphone but I'm kind of confused with all the information online... Could u help me figure this out?
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    #18
    sunsean

    My mom is handing down her iphone 4s to me and would like to get it to work on straighttalk, would like information on how to do it. I guess I would also need info on how to jailbreak it.

    Is there no message system here... can you provide link or email to correspond

    thanks
     

Share This Page