Can I upgrade XP Home to Pro after using Boot Camp???

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by mrdarthvader, Jun 9, 2006.

  1. mrdarthvader macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I used bootcamp to install Windows XP Home edition with the sp2 on to my Macbook Pro. No problems. It is working well. My question though is can I use an XP Pro upgrade disk and upgrade my Home edition to Pro?

    Just for info I have tried and it starts out like it is going to work and then when it reboots to start the setup process I get a blue stop screen telling me it has stopped to keep from damaging my computer.:( It says something about not being able to access the drive.

    Maybe its not possible yet... but I thought you would be able to otherwise it is really going to suck if you ever want to upgrade to Vista or anything else...

    Thanks for your help!
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Although Microsoft had promised Home -> Pro upgrades aroud the time of the XP release it seems these have never materialized. Given that it's the same code for he most part it seems odd that you can't , but you can't without reinstalling al your apps.

    Upgrading to Vista though should be more likely to work...

    B
     
  3. quicksilver77 macrumors 6502

    quicksilver77

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    #3
    I have upgraded many home machines to pro using the Microsoft XP Pro Upgrade. All I did was simply put the cd into the drive while in windows xp home, it autruns and I upgraded. Not sure about doing it on a mac....
     
  4. DISCOMUNICATION macrumors 6502a

    DISCOMUNICATION

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA USA
    #4
    Same problem

    I have the same problem. XP Home edition SP2 works just fine, but I can't upgrade. The upgrade goes fine until it's time to restart. I get a vague blue screen message about UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_ something or other. Basically you can't boot from the XPproCD. I think I'll keep my PC for now.
     
  5. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #5
    Yeah you can -- just pop in the CD and click 'upgrade.'

    Meanwhile, I assume it would be easy ont the mac, but I don't know.
     

Share This Page