Can I use Airport Extreme card?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by patseguin, Mar 18, 2005.

  1. macrumors 65816

    patseguin

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #1
    Is the Mac in my sig considered "Airport Extreme Ready"? I did not purchase it with an Airport Extreme card but now I am thinking about going wireless with an Airport Express. Can I just go into my Apple Store and buy one the Airport Extreme cards or will my G5 need something installed first?
     
  2. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #2
    The PowerMac G5 is indeed AirPort Extreme "ready" all you need to do is locate the little bit of external antenna that should've come with the system for it and buy an AirPort Extreme card.

    Well also, you need to install it properly. (Not difficult at all.)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    patseguin

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #3
    That's what that antenna was? I thought it was a bluetooth antenna. I hope I can find the thing.

    Does the card install somewhere on the motherboard?

    God forbid I open my manual. ;)
     
  4. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #4
    You only get a Bluetooth antenna with the PowerMac G5 if you order it with a built-in bluetooth moduel.

    Probably, but you need to follow the directions to get the antenna hooked up properly anyway, so just follow them from the start. And remember to shutdown your Mac before you open it up.

    It sound like you need a more permissive diety. :cool:
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    #5
    On the G5 dual 2.0 the AE card installs in a slot immediately inside the system on the left when the side cover is removed. It's very easy - there's a frame/guide the card slots into and is then pressed (firmly) onto the connector and the airport antenna lead pressed firmly into the connector on the back edge of the AE card - it all takes about 30 seconds.

    The only thing to be cautious of is that the card is firmly seated and the antenna firmly attached.

    The T-shaped antenna must, of course, be attached to the connector on the back of the G5, and if the G5 itself is between the antenna and the WAP, it will cause the signal level to drop. My WAP is located behind the G5 so the signal is good - if I turn it round, it drops from 4 bars to 2!
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    patseguin

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #6
    Thanks. I do have that T-shaped antenna. Does the airport antenna lead that you refer to already exist inside the G5 or does it come with the airport card?
     

Share This Page