Can I use an FP Apple Studio Display on a PC?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Danger! Will, May 15, 2003.

  1. macrumors regular

    Danger! Will

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona USA
    #1
    Is there a flat panel apple studio display that used standard VGA as the input? ie: like my pc to the apple studio display?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    at the end of the hall
    #2
    You can use an Apple LCD with any computer. You have to get an ADC to DVI adapter, Apple makes one, as well as D. Bott. They are about $100. Good luck.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Danger! Will

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona USA
    #3
    I'm not following you on that....I've got a standard vga out on my pc and want to hook it up to an Apple Studio Display FP so what goes in the middle? ADC? DVI?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    at the end of the hall
    #4
    Sorry...in addition to the ADC/DVI thing you need a VGA/DVI adapter. Sequence would be:

    VGA > adapter to DVI > adapter to ADC

    Your USB signal can plug into the ADC adapter as well, so you can use the USB hub in the display.

    Check the Dr. Bott website. I would recommend that you have a video card that supports DVI for the best possible signal. Apple displays are designed to have an all digital signal, they work and look best that way.
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    You'll need a a converter such as this to change the ADC signal into DVI, and then a simple DVI to analog converter (unless someone has made an ADC-VGA adapter I haven't seen).

    I wouldn't expect a perfect picture since you're converting the signal twice.
     
  6. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #6
    Shizzle!
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #7
    Nice...pricey, but nice!
     
  8. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #8
    well if i remember right the apple dvi/adc adapter and apples dvi/vga have male/female conflictions which wouldnt make it work that easily. you are probably gonna need a converbox which run about 300 dollars.

    iJon
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    LimeLite

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #9
    Apple FP displays are pretty pricey. In my opinion, they're worth it if you're buying it to compliment the rest of your system, becayse the whole apple package looks very nice together, but if you're getting it to use with a pc...there are numerous PC products that are far less expensive. (And you don't have to pay over $200 just to be able to use it with your computer.)

    Also, just out of curiosity...if you look at the Apple displays, they have system requirements. (for example, the one of them won't work with any computer not using jaguar or higher.) Are you sure you can use them with PC's?
     
  10. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #10
    for the pc they are very worth it. monitor is a monitor, regardless what system it is on. looks great on the mac, looks great on a pc. yes it will work because ive used my 20 inch cinema display on my pc and it was great. my games had no lag what so ever. the only problem i found was that windows xp didnt reconize apples goofy widescreen rez. and do you honestly feel apple would tell you this works on windows, come on :).

    iJon
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #11
    You CANNOT use an Apple monitor on any solely-VGA equipped PC. The differences between analog and digital (vga/dvi) prohibits any sort of cheap adapter. There may be something out there that does the transition, but I'm sure it's a load of money.

    You must have at lest DVI to run any Apple display. If you buy a video card with that then you need to purchace Apple's DVI-ADC adapter so that the monitor can be powered and carry USB.

    The solution for you is to just buy a decent video card with DVI output which now can cost you as little as $75

    <edit> The system requirements do not carry over to the PC side of the fence. I.e. The 20" required Jaguar, but it works just fine on a PC running windows. My recommendation is to buy a GeForce 4 Ti card that supports 1650X1280 so that you can get the native resolution of the LCD which makes for the best quality picture. Also, I have tested a 20" LCD on OS 9, and it worked just fine. Maybe it was because the machice also had Jaguar on it, but just didn't boot into it.</edit>

    <edit2>You CAN cheaply convert digital to analog, but not vice versa like you are asking to do with your PC.<edit2>
     
  12. thread starter macrumors regular

    Danger! Will

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona USA
    #12
    Lemme make this even harder than before. Is there a PCI Video Card with DVI out?
     
  13. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #13
    i dont want to sound mean but if your computer doesnt have agp its time for a serious upgrade.

    iJon
     
  14. thread starter macrumors regular

    Danger! Will

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona USA
    #14
    It's a brand new Dell...I'm switching to Apple piece by piece lol
     
  15. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #15
    ok, if its a brand new dell then why would you want a pci video card.

    iJon
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #16
    So why not use an AGP card. The PCI cards on the market are not nearly as good as the best AGP cards.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors regular

    Danger! Will

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona USA
    #17
    Because the dell doesn't have an AGP slot...I'm not trying to complicate the process on purpose...and I did find a PCI card with Video out...ATI Radion 7500
     
  18. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #18
    a new dell with no agp, you got ripped off. how could you not have a computer with agp. oh well

    iJon
     
  19. thread starter macrumors regular

    Danger! Will

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona USA
    #19
    actually i've read that there really isn't a performance difference between agp and pci...at least that's what techtv said
     
  20. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #20
    whoa, thats a good one. that was a good laugh, that is completly not true.

    iJon
     
  21. thread starter macrumors regular

    Danger! Will

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona USA
    #21
    I don't see what difference it'll will make if I have pci or agp...i don't do any gaming so WHO CARES?
     
  22. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #22
    calm down biggin, if your not gamin then just get that radeon, should be fine.

    iJon
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #23

    make sure you got that correctly...you don't need VIDEO out, you need DVI output for the Apple screens.

    -Pete
     
  24. macrumors 68040

    tazo

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, Seattle, WA actually
    #24
    my pc is a 700 PIII and it does not have AGP either, you dont need to be mean to the guy. honestly. "your computer only has a 1ghz processor? man it is really time to upgrade"; how would you feel if a guy was like that to you regarding the mhz of apple's?
     
  25. macrumors 68040

    tazo

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, Seattle, WA actually
    #25
    how can the latest from apple cost 3000+ and only be a dual 1.42? :D its best not to open your mouth when in the river of apple zealotland
     

Share This Page