Can I use EDO RAM in my 7500?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by mikepctp, Nov 21, 2003.

  1. mikepctp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    just north of Toronto, Canada
    #1
    I think I may have asked this before but just to make sure... I am trying to get some RAM for my old girl here and I need to ask the experts whether I can use "dell 168 pin EDO RAM" in my Mac 7500...

    I appreciate your help folks... MP
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    According to Apple's spec page, the 7500 uses 168-pin DIMMs (70 ns). I thought that EDO was SIMM not DIMM, but I could be wrong there.

    Edit: Just looked on Crucial's site, and they're selling EDO DIMMs. So I was wrong, and you'd better not ask me for any more help in case I blow up your system or something :(
     
  3. mikepctp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    just north of Toronto, Canada
    #3
    No sweat man... if she blows, she blows... we can re-build it... bigger, stronger, faster.... it is afterall... A MAC! PC's go and go once... BOOM!...

    lol

    MP
     
  4. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #4
    Actually, it's a Mac, not a MAC. ;)

    You cannot use EDO DIMMs with the 7500, only FPM DIMMS.
     
  5. mikepctp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    just north of Toronto, Canada
    #5
    Sorry Bousz... I was excited and left my finger on the shift key... happens when I get back on the Mac after being on a pc... :)

    cheers and thanks...

    MP
     

Share This Page