iPad Can I use my AT&T iPad 3 on T-Mobile 4G in Las Vegas?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by docprego, Dec 2, 2012.

  1. macrumors 65816

    docprego

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #1
    I'd really like to use my AT&T iPad on T-Mobile so I can take advantage of their $30 unlimited data plan. This plan offers the first 5 GB at 4G speeds. Since I'm in Vegas where T-Mobile has 42mbps HSPA+, will I be able to use my iPad at these 4G speeds using this plan? If it's possible how do I go about this?

    Thank you!
     
  2. macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #2
    It'll work on the iPad. The bands are supported by it.

    Not sure how to go about activating it though.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    docprego

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #3
    Thanks. Are you confirming that I should be able to connect at 4G speeds?

    Can I buy this sim in a T-Mobile store? I guess then activate it online and put it in the iPad?

    ----------

    OK read this after I posted. Has anyone else done this and can advise on how to activate the sim?
     
  4. macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #4
    Okay, actually ... on second thought, I need to clarify some stuff.

    1) the iPad will pick up T-Mobile 3G HSPA+ if the area has been refarmed. I'm not sure if Las Vegas has. T-Mobile has HSPA+ on the 1900mhz band, but they're slowly moving it to a band that the Apple devices will support.

    I'm not sure your area has already been refarmed. If it has, it'll pickup T-Mobile HSPA+. If it hasn't, it still will work, but on Edge which is really pointless.

    2) I'm assuming if you get it activated and put the SIM in, it'll be fine. I believe that the plan you're referring to is the one that includes voice and text so I had my initial concerns considering it's really a phone plan, that it is for. But I've put the SIM from my AT&T iPhone that has a texting/voice plan on it too, and the iPad worked just fine for that.

    You can check if iPad comptaible 3G is in your area here http://www.airportal.de/
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    docprego

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #5
    Are the areas that T-Mobile is promoting as 4G ready for the iPhone 5 refarmed? If so then Vegas is:

    http://www.pcworld.com/article/2010471/t-mobile-usa-invites-iphone-users-to-hspa-networks.html
     
  6. macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #6
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #7
    Doubtful

    If TMobile has refarmed the 1900MHz spectrum in Vegas, then it would be technically possible.

    However, I recently tried using two different t-mobile sims in my ATT iPad 3 and could NOT get any service, not even at edge speeds.

    When I bought my iPad3 on release day I cut my t-mobile sim down and it worked fine at edge speeds in my ATT iPad3 (had to change APN settings).

    However, when I tried it again about a month ago, I got nothing but a my-tmobile.com sign on page. It would appear that t-mobile is now blocking regular plan sims and you must purchase a data only sim instead. I also tried one of the $30/month pre-paid 5gig plan sims as well, same result.

    So, unless you buy a data plan only sim from t-mobile AND unless t-mobile has refarmed 1900mhz in Vegas, then I am betting you are out of luck.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    docprego

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #8
    I'm convinced Vegas is refarmed so that part of the equation works. Earlier tonight I stuck my T-Mobile Note II sim in my iPad and got nothing but the sign on page you mentioned. I fear that I am out of luck.

    That said they do have tablet plans which might work but they are no bargain compared to the AT&T LTE plans available directly from the device.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #9
    I ran into this as well. The $30 TMobile plan sim wouldn't work on my Nexus 7 4G. The conclusion was that TMobile is only letting broadband sims work on tablets now.
     

Share This Page