Can I use my G4 Powerbook as a display only? (DVI out from a G3 tower > Pbook)

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by ultrasuede, Mar 24, 2004.

  1. ultrasuede macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Location:
    Detroit
    #1
    Is it possible to use my G4 laptop as a display only? I want to run my G3 tower (DVI out) into the 17" laptop. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    thank you.
    matt
     
  2. Zaty macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #2
    Since PBs don't have video in, it's not possible.
     
  3. live4ever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    #3
    Nope, the Powerbook only has a DVI video out port not in.
     
  4. Mudbug Administrator emeritus

    Mudbug

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    North Central Colorado
    #4
    I guess you could run something like Remote Desktop, so that your laptop would control the tower, but short of that, no. And you won't be impressed by the latency/lag of remote desktop, or the graphics quality. It would work in a pinch, but you probably wouldn't want it as your "daily driver."

    something I'm not quite following - why would you want to do this? The powerbook is going to be a faster/better machine than the tower... so what's the benefit?
     
  5. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #5
    would it be useful at all if you mounted your tower in your PB under firewire target disk mode?
     
  6. Jo-Kun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Antwerp-Belgium
    #6
    'T' doesn't work on B&W G3's... I tried it with the old one...
     

Share This Page