can i use WinXP upgrade in Parallels

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MAcNIAC, Oct 29, 2006.

  1. MAcNIAC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I know in bootcamp you have to use a full (non upgrade) edition of Windows XP (unless you do some crafty stuff).

    Can I use my old upgrade edition of Win XP in parallels ?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #2
    no

    think of it this way, parallels emulates a full computer and starts out with an empty hd. Can you use that disk in a computer with an empty hd, no. So you can't use it in parallels. Their isn't any special sauce that allows you to save money on xp.
     
  3. theman5725 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    #3
    If you have access to a PC you can slipstream a full SP2 disc with an upgrade version.
     
  4. MAcNIAC thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    thanks for the reply, i havent used an intel mac yet. I understand the prob with bootcamp and the "Win XP upgrade CD" is that you have to swap CDs and there is no way to eject the CD with the drivers missing... is that right?

    In parrallels dont you have OSX running in the background during the XP install? why cant you just switch back to OSX- eject and swap the CD at the required moment for XP?

    I've already paid for XP! just want to use the copy I already have... not sure I'm up to slipstreaming ... a bit nervous I'll get the CD stuck in my (soon to be ordered) MBP!
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Follow the links I provided. (Typed from my iMac running XP installed from Windows XP Home Upgrade).

    B
     
  6. MAcNIAC thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    thanks Balamw , i actually followed that thread at the time - good reading.
    so the same thing works for parallels as bootcamp?

    can you use the same copy of XP in parallels as you do in bootcamp - it's on one machine right?:) :eek:

    i'm just a little nervous that I'll do something dumb, like label the CD with the wrong name, and the CD will get stuck!
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    The same hybrid XP Upgrade/98 CD will work for any install on a PC Mac or Parallels.

    However, you don't even need to use a CD for Parallels at all. I Installed Win2K Upgrade into Parallels very simply. Created an ISO image of both the 2K and 98 CDs and then told Parallels to install from the 2K.iso and then swapped back to OSX to tell it to use the 98.iso at the right time. Switch back and all is well.

    I've also installed Vista into Parallels using the ISO and no DVD...

    As to using the same license, I've avoided that since I have other licenses that I can use (a 2K license and Vista RC2). Others have reported success when asked to contact Microsoft for Activation and get a new code.

    Good Luck.

    B
     
  8. MAcNIAC thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    awesome thankyou

    thanks so much - when my new MBP arrives I'll give it a try!
     
  9. big_oz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    #10
    Win98>XP install into Parallels

    balamw, can you give me some more details on how you did this? Did you set up Parallels to run a WinXP machine, and start with the upgrade CD, or tell it you wanted Win98 and then upgraded? Also, did you use the ISO generator that comes with Parallels?

    I'm moving my old dead Dell to a new MacBook and would like to use the software I already own.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page