Can my Mac run Civ V?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by tvontheshelf, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #1
    Hello, just trying to see if civ v can run on my MacBook pro?
    specs:
    2.2 Quad-Core i7 Processor
    8 GB RAM
    Intel 3000 (graphics card I think?)
    AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 1GB of GDDR5
    500GB Serial ATA drive @ 7200 rpm
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #2
    Yes, obviously... why do you even feel you need to ask?
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #3
    you totally blow away the minimum specs...
    but I have a machine with the same GPU and CPU and Civ5 runs great of course.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #4
    Yup, you'll be just fine. I play on a similar system with a lower graphics card and it works fine.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #5
    As already mentioned you should have no problem running it and running it well. Your Mac is more then adequate to run Civ 5.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #6
    Will I be able to run it on big maps though? Like with 12 players on it? Sorry i'm contemplating civ v cus I here it has crashing problems on Mac and the recommended specs seems higher than my MBP.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #7
    It does meet the recommended specs, the only thing that could possibly be an issue is that it says "quad core cpu 2.6GHz", you have the latest i7 quad core which runs at 2.2Ghz, i doubt you are going to have any problems running it.

    The windows requirements are even lower than the mac ones.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #8
    When they say Quad Core 2.6GHz they are thinking of Core2Quad which is a lot slower than the i7. The i7 quad is twice as fast as the Core2Quad.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #9
    Is there a way for me to learn the difference between core processors? Like a website link or something? Cus I'm not really understanding why you mean really. Sorry.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #10
    No not really, check wikipedia and ars for some generational comparisons but it doesn't go into much detail. Just don't worry about it. The game will play fine.
     

Share This Page