Can OSX do this? (Windows can)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by kangaroo, Nov 2, 2006.

  1. kangaroo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    #1
    In Windows you can have the system automatically tile your windows either horizontally or vertically. If for example you wanted to have two browser windows tiled side by side, Windows will maximize each window within your screen. The only way I can see doing this in OSX is to manually size each window. Is there something I'm missing or a workaround?

    Also, it would seem that unless you change the from the optimal native resolution you can't change the size of OSXs title bar text, buttons, etc. Is there a workaround for this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #2
    As far as I know, OS X can not "tile" in the way that Windows can. It could be for several different reasons. I can only think of a couple like maybe they thought it wasn't used enough to implement it. I've used Windows since 3.1 and I can count on one hand how many times I used the tile feature. Of course when I did need it, it was nice to have, but I don't really miss it either. The other reason I can think of is that they found that people only used tile to find a browser window fast without having to flip through all the windows and to find it visually. But that is what expose is for.

    As far as the appearance of the GUI, it's not very customizable right out of the box. There are programs written to change the things you are talking about (I think). I'm not big on doing that kind of thing so I don't have any programs or links. I'm guessing Apple doesn't like giving people choices because they like their stuff to look good. I've seen people change colors, fonts and font sizes in windows that looked like a nightmare. You could argue that if they like it, who cares, but Apple has an image to protect in some ways. I'm an architecture student, and if I designed a building to look a certain way, I would be horrified to see someone deface something I took a lot of time in making look good. To me it feels the same way with apple. They make it difficult to change how things look for a reason.

    If you need to change those things because they are hard to see, the only thing I can think of is the zoom/contrast features in the Universal Access section of System Preferences.
     
  3. XP Defector macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #3
    I'd probably agree with you but in theory, it should be the end user decision what their operating system looks like. Firstly because they have paid for their notebook and are thus in complete ownership of it, and secondly that it's really a matter of choice.
     
  4. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #4
    Open two browser windows. Activate expose.

    Boom!

    It can 'tile' LOADS of windows. I use it to pick out images from an entire folder. Open say 20 images. Hit F9 and they are all placed next to each other so I can then do as i wish with them.

    Bye!
     
  5. ero87 macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #5
    not a real answer, of course- you can't work within those windows, you can only select one or the other.

    i've often wished that i could use expose and then just KEEP those windows all nice and spread out!
     
  6. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #6
    OSX can't do this by design. The Mac GUI is meant to be more like a stack of paper on your desk. Programs sit on top of each other and you filp between them as you need to.

    Windows has a separate set of GUI design guidelines, so some things work differently.

    Just as a footnote, I've never once missed the ability to do this on the Mac. The only time I'd ever need it is in Excel, which has the feature built into the program anyway.
     
  7. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

    Lixivial

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
    #7
    Yeah, as has been iterated in this thread, there is no native way of doing this. However, AppleScript can do so for you -- I don't know how well this one performs (not on my Mac currently), but searching Google for "AppleScript Tile Windows" or whatnot should produce some hits.

    http://bbs.applescript.net/viewtopic.php?pid=49916
     
  8. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    You can make the text and icons bigger in Finder Preferences, though you cannot change the titlebar, that is a promised feature in Leopard,


    For window tiling Mac's have Expose press F9, F10 and F11 to see it in action.
     
  9. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #9
    It is something I would find useful for writing a precis of a pdf for college, or transferring extracts of one document into another.

    I forgot I could do that in Windows and now I want it :(

    Students are a big market, Apple.
     
  10. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Adobe Acrobat can do what you want. Why should Apple release a competing app?
     
  11. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    You can, just make the windows narrower ;)

    Picture 8.jpg
     
  12. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #12
    Takes time though. I want easy.
     
  13. Allotriophagy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    #13
    Seems to me like you need to get used to the way things work in OS X or just stick to Windows.

    NEXT!
     
  14. topgun072003 macrumors 6502

    topgun072003

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #14
    yeah this is what I do. And it IS easy.
     
  15. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    There is also the applescript option. You should also be able to get it to launch from a shortcut (though I'm not sure how.)
     
  16. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #16
    Huh? One very minor irritation that could be easily and elegantly dealt with by Apple and I should go back to Windows after nearly 2 years?

    Get off your high horse.
     
  17. Allotriophagy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    #17
    Either that or write to Apple and demand they add this function and apologise to you for the trauma caused.
     
  18. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #18
    It's that sort of attitude (that Apple is perfect in everything) that gives mac users/huggers a bad name.

    Here is one (very small) area that Windows trumps OSX. The facility should be there as it is beneficial for some people. What's your problem with that?
    OSX beats Windows in most areas - what's so wrong in pointing out something that could be done better? I'm sure they could come up with a very elegant solution - even iPhoto allows comparison of image side by side - why not for the rest of the system?
     
  19. Allotriophagy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    #19
    Allow me to actually inform you what my attitude is - Apple and Microsoft make two different products with different feature sets, neither of whom are targetting me and my needs specifically. I just have to deal with it.

    I no more expect OS X to have every feature of Windows than I expect Windows to have every piddling feature of OS X.

    If resizing windows or using Expose was an issue for me and I needed tiled windows, I would use an OS that supplied that feature. Simple as that.

    And you are not pointing out that something could be done better - you are pointing out that there is more than one way to skin a cat. Quite different.
     
  20. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #20
    In my defense the OP did not state they wished to work in the open windows. I just thought they wanted to see them side by side. In that case I agree Windows wins this battle. :eek:
     
  21. zero2dash macrumors 6502a

    zero2dash

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Fenton, MO
    #21
    I don't know if I'd use the term "trumps", it's a minimal feature (if that). It's not like we're talking about some system critical function or error; we're talking about a shortcut to sort windows on the screen without doing the work yourself. How often do you really use this? I've never used it myself and I've owned and used Windows computers for 10 years. Never used it once. I'm sure I'm not alone in that regard and that's probably why Apple's never implemented it into OSX.

    In the year and a half I've used a G5 at work, I use Expose probably half a dozen times (or more) every day. Expose is highly useful to me.

    I'm not saying 'no one will ever use a "tile windows" feature, but it's certainly not a deal breaker for me.
     
  22. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #22
    people are acting in this manner for the sole reason that as it has been stated, the two OSes act in different ways. simple as that. OS X handles windows in a certain manner and Windows has its own set of guidlines as well. done. clear cut. Apple isn't perfect, but this is the way they designed their system, they can't cater to everyone, and they don't mean to either. you can do things in OS X that can't be done in Windows, and visa versa. its the way the world is. accept it. if you don't like it complaining on a Mac Forum isn't going to get anything done. submit it as an area in which Apple can improve on thier website. just because the functionality is good for you and you like it doesn't mean its for everyone, and thats why this is turning into an arguement.
     
  23. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #23
    I use expose about once every few minutes. Saves LOADS of time, frustration and useless clicking about.

    Go to work, use my silly Dell with XP and my workflow is cut in half. Doing things without the ability to quickly see the desktop (without clicking the stupid little thing in the start bar) and all my windows with the flick of the wrist, is just plain ridiculous now that Ive seen what CAN be done in terms of window management.

    Screw anyone who thinks you cant tweak OSX, go download Shapeshifter it will do all that you want I believe. And also screw those who think that the program "Windows" can actually use windows efficiently.
     
  24. Chef Medeski macrumors 6502a

    Chef Medeski

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #24
    Look thats absolutely ridiculous. Thats like saying that if you buy a car you shouldn't modify it. Its your property you can do whatever you want with it except of course copy it. Yet, I think appearance is a preferential thing. My friend like his purple hair I think it looks like dog sh*t. If it was up to Apple would everyone merely have the classic Blond hair/ Blue eyes. May look great, but I prefer Brown hair/brown eyes. Some might prefer curly. Or red heads. Its not fair that Apple gets to pick what looks the best.
     
  25. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #25
    Some individual apps offer this, but there isn't a system-wide way of doing so. As has been pointed out there are scripts that might do that, no idea how well they work. Evidently it's not a very useful feature to many users, certainly not to me (I'd just do it manually).

    Not right now. Leopard is supposed to have a resolution-independant GUI so this should be possible then. Admittedly, this is one thing that MS got right quite a while ago.
     

Share This Page