Can our small business make the switch?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by sir42, Jul 30, 2004.

1. sir42 macrumors 6502

I recently switched from PC to Mac at home and I couldn’t be happier. The Mac was a little more expensive, but as a personal user, I was happy to pay the premium.

I work as an office manager in a small business of 6 employees (right now only 4 though). Our current Windows machines are getting old and are in need of a replacing. I’m putting together a proposal to buy new computers to submit to my boss. While I would love to switch our office over to Macs, I’m having a hard time making it seem worthwhile. So I’m hoping to get some ideas on how we can use Macs in our business that would make the cost premium worth it to us. I’ve listed below some of the sticking points I’ve encountered as I put together my proposal.

1. I priced out a Dell Dimension with features comparable to the current low-end iMac. The price of the Dell: $1,130. The cost of the iMac: $1,299 before customization and I would at least want to add a SuperDrive (the cost of the Dell includes a DVD burner).

2. The cost of the Dell above includes Microsoft Office. I will have to buy between 4 and 6 new copies of Microsoft Office for Mac. Each copy is $399. I found something on the MS website about volume licensing, and it looks like our office would be right for the Open License. But the website doesn’t list any pricing information. Does anyone know what the price scale is like for the Open License?