Can panther be INSTALLED on a pc

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by freak-on-aleash, Oct 28, 2003.

  1. freak-on-aleash macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    #1
    I have an HP running XP. Can i simply pop-in the panther cd and install it?
     
  2. 5300cs macrumors 68000

    5300cs

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    japan
    #3
    Not a chance- the architecture is completely different. (PPC vs x86)
     
  3. aethier macrumors 6502a

    aethier

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #4
    NO WAY HOSé

    buy a mac, then you could instal it all you want.

    aethier
     
  4. rainman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    #5
    Hi,
    well. (ays! my mouth is bleeding...containing myself..)

    Please, please!! If you get it! tell us all! Nerver to Steve Jobs, the poor guy can commit suicide 20 times!

    Ays!! ays! sorry..!! I am not feeling so good... Ays!!
    Suffering a heart attack!!..not sure!! sick!! Ays!
    (no offence! sory, but .....ti is too much for me)

    Ranman
    (Well, CDs keep the same size for both systems, I guess..
    :D )
     
  5. jayscheuerle macrumors 68020

    jayscheuerle

    #6
    And you want to eat caviar out of a dog-food bowl because.....?

    :D

    Sorry pal, you'll need to invest at least $300 on a 4 year old machine to run it on first! :eek:
     
  6. freak-on-aleash thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    #7
    thanks anyway,

    if i start saving cash, i could buy a imac in about...

    ... 3 years :) .

    Peace everyone
     
  7. skychum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #8
    put darwain on it

    the next step is an x86 port of the osx windows manager. I'm sure people are working on this.
     
  8. mrjamin macrumors 65816

    mrjamin

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Strongbadia
    #9
    yeah - it should work fine.

    i installed it on my BBC Micro and it worked a treat. Now i can play frogger using quartz extreme. w00t (whatever w00t means)
     
  9. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
  10. chicagdan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #11
    I have Panther running on my 15 year old Speak and Spell. Today I'm installing in on my IntelliVision.
     
  11. mrjamin macrumors 65816

    mrjamin

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Strongbadia
    #12
    anybody tried it on a cellphone yet? been meaning to give it a go on mine but i'm not sure it meets the requirements
     
  12. RichP macrumors 68000

    RichP

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Location:
    Motor City
    #13
    well, my cell phone is a motorola... :D
     
  13. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #14
    Only if it has a USB cdrom drive. Otherwise the Panther CD doesn't fit. I suppose you could send a disk image by bluetooth if your phone has that?
     
  14. Chealion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    #15
    That was either a really unknowledgable PC user (about the different OSes and architectures) or a troll.

    I find it more likely that a switcher would ask if they can install Windows XP on their Mac. Or can they install Panther in Windows XP or something similar.
     
  15. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #16
    Modern diesels are getting great fuel mileage.

    So you may want to start using diesel fuel in you car to reap the benefits of drastically increased fuel mileage.

    Should work just as well as a Panther CD in a PC.
     
  16. whocares macrumors 65816

    whocares

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    :noitаɔo˩
    #17
    Hi have a Panther running around in my back yard. :D
     
  17. fraeone macrumors regular

    fraeone

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #18
    I bet if you sell your HP it would take considerably less than three years. Since you're broke, I assume you're a student (like me, yay!).. Sooo

    Buy an eMac with edu discount for $749! That's really not expensive at all for a 1Ghz Mac. I bet you can sell your HP for at least half that.
     
  18. Java macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    Marin County (where else?)
    #19
    no Palm Pilot

    Ya, for some reason, I tried installing it on my Palm Tungsten and I just couldn't get the thing to work. Can somebody help me?:p
     
  19. flyfish29 macrumors 68020

    flyfish29

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    New HAMpshire
    #20
    You can get an Apple loan to make the thing be less that $25 a month, and probably more like $15 on an eMac. Even if you are not a student you can get great rates and cheap monthly payments and get it now isntead of saving and being without the Dream Machine...the Mac!
     
  20. fraeone macrumors regular

    fraeone

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #21
    Yeah, a friend of mine just took out a loan to buy a 15" PB. I think he spent ~2600. Apple didn't like his credit though, so he had to go through his bank.

    He wanted a laptop, but I can't imagine taking out a loan that big when there is a 12" PB for 1400, and an ibook for 1000, etc.. (he's a student).

    On the other hand, a loan for a $750 eMac is a completely reasonable idea. Unfortunately my friend has eyes bigger than his income.
     
  21. noel4r macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  22. cwedl macrumors 65816

    cwedl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #23
    I can install panther on my windows machine! why can't any of you!
     
  23. apple_iBoy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #24
    Woohoo! Now I can do fast user switching on my house's thermostat.
     
  24. rueyeet macrumors 65816

    rueyeet

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    MD
    #25
    I would be really surprised that someone would not know that the Mac OS won't run on anything but a Mac. That's why you buy a Mac, so you can run the Mac OS.

    Though, on the off-chance that the poster was actually serious, I'll agree that the sale of the HP could go a long way towards financing a Mac purchase.... :D
     

Share This Page